Students can request an item for the library through the self service portal.

1. Log in to the self service portal
2. Choose 'Library Services'
3. Choose 'Request a new Resource'
4. Complete the online form with the details

If you have any questions about the form, or would like help filling it in, contact library@uws.ac.uk or speak to a member of staff at any library info point.

Following your request we may;

• purchase or subscribe to the requested resource
• contact you for further information about your request
• help you to access the item, or a similar resource in the library collection
• support you to make a request to borrow the item from another library
• give you information about why we cannot complete your request

New Books for Teaching

If you would like to request new books for use in teaching, you can;

• Use the purchase request tag on your Module Resource lists - this will automatically let library staff know that you have requested the item for the specific module. OR
• e-mail libraryorders@uws.ac.uk with a list of books you would like to be made available for students. Please include details of the modules where you expect the resources to be used.

New Books for Research and Development

Staff who would like to request an individual book can complete a request form in the self service portal using the steps outlined for students. If you would like to request more than one item, e-mail libraryorders@uws.ac.uk. Please let us know that the item is required for research.

New Journal and Database Subscriptions

If you would like us to consider a new journal or content database subscription to support either teaching or research please e-mail e-resources@uws.ac.uk with details. 

Library services manage subscriptions for most content databases and online collections (e.g. e-books, online journals, videos, conference proceedings and other collections of online data).

Subscriptions for software and teaching tools are managed by IT. If you would like to request software or tools for teaching please complete an IT change request form on the self-service portal.

Donating Items to the Main Library Collection

Library collections can consider donations of;

• Current textbooks in good condition
• Research monographs
• Good quality books on topics of general interest such as history, philosophy and culture

Donations of a few items can be handed in to any campus library info point. If you would like to make a larger donation, contact e-resources@uws.ac.uk to discuss further. (We do not undertake house clearances).

Donated items may be added to the collection, passed on to charities or sent on to Anybook reseller.

Donating items to Campus Library Services

Campus library services can accept small donations of;

• Good quality fiction
• General interest books in good condition, such a cookery books, self-help resources etc.

These donations may be made available for students to take away through our Wee Libraries or used to support activities and events. Contact library@uws.ac.uk to discuss your donation.

Donating Items to UWS Special Collections & Archives

UWS Special Collections & Archives can consider donations of

• Materials relating to the history of the university and its founding institutions - Paisley College of Technology, University of Paisley, Bell College of Technology & Craigie College of Education
• Local history resources relating to the areas surrounding our Scottish campuses
• Collections related to individuals and organisations with a connection to the university or local industry and events.

Contact Specialcollections@uws.ac.uk to discuss the collection or materials you would like to donate

Collection Review

Items are moved between campus libraries and removed from the collection as part of our normal review process to make sure the collection meets the needs of our students, staff and visitors.

If you would like to suggest an area of the library that should be prioritised for review, please e-mail e-resources@uws.ac.uk explaining why it is important for us to review this area more quickly.

Subject Location Changes

If the provision of teaching for a full subject area will be changing campus, and you would like to discuss large scale movement of related books and journals, please contact e-resources@uws.ac.uk.

Moving library collections needs extensive planning, so please contact us at least three months in advance of any significant change.