Library collections include a wide range of catalogued and managed resources provided to support learning, teaching, research and development across the university. This includes:

• Textbooks

• Research monographs

• Journals

• Newspapers & magazines

• Video, audio & multimedia

• Databases

• Websites

• Maps, photographs & images

• Archival documents

• Historical artifacts

Collections cover materials that are online, including selected high-quality open access sources, as well as print and other agreed formats.

Visit information sources for more detailed descriptions of the kinds of material you may come across in our collections

Visit Access to Resources to explore how to access and use our collections.

We work with academic schools, students, researchers and departments across the university to provide resources that support study and research. Resources are added to the collection through purchase, subscription and donation as well as curation of quality Open Access sources.

Wherever possible resources are provided in an online format that can be used by all our students and staff, however some items have license limitations that affect how many people can use the item at once. Some items are only available in print.

Selection of materials balances availability, cost and access. Purchases and subscriptions follow agreed procurement guidelines

If you would like to suggest new resources for the collection or donate materials to the library (including Special Collections and Archives) please visit

Adding to and Moving Library Collections

Resources in the library collection are organised using agreed cataloguing standards and made available through the library online catalogue One Search. Full text access to online resources is available through the catalogue.

Collections and databases are organised into an A-Z list of collections.

Recommended resources are made available to students through Module Resource Lists. Arrangement of resources on lists may vary in line with the needs of the specific programme of study.

Special Collections and Archive materials are arranged by collection.

Print collections are available at every campus, organised using the Dewey Decimal System to place resource on similar topics close together for easy browsing. The location of print resources within the collection can be found using One Search.

Links to online resources are reviewed regularly. Problems with links to materials on One Search, the database A-Z and Module Resource Lists can be reported to e-resources@uws.ac.uk. Issues with links to Special Collections and Archive materials should be reported to Specialcollections@uws.ac.uk

Physical resources are protected through measures including protective coverings, placement of shelving away from direct sunlight, cleaning and repair of resources identified during collection reviews.

Historic materials are stored in archival standard containers in a secure area.

Collection review covers both physical on online resources in the collection.

Digital review criteria include;

• Confirmation of current access
• Availability of and access to replacement editions
• Cost effectiveness - based on usage and annual cost

Following review individual items or collections may be removed from the catalogue. Annual subscriptions to collections or databases may be discontinued in discussion with relevant academic schools.

Physical review criteria include;

• Loan usage
• Material condition
• Availability and security of access to digital copies
• Ease and cost of physical replacement
• Ongoing relevance

Following review, identified items may be moved to an alternative location, transferred to special collections for preservation and long-term retention or disposed of.

If you would like to highlight any items for potential movement or disposal, visit

Adding, moving and removing items in library collections

Physical items that are identified for long term preservation or archiving may become part of Special Collections and Archives. Specialist archival and preservation standards are followed. Contact Specialcollections@uws.ac.uk for further details.

Physical resources that are no longer required may be offered to students, staff or other libraries or used in creative projects. Unwanted print books are collected by AnyBook specialist library book reseller. Other resources that are not needed are disposed of using routes recommended by university estates.

Contact e-resources@uws.ac.uk for further information about any aspect of library collections

Contact Specialcollections@uws.ac.uk for information and advice about Special Collections and Archives