Over 14 years’ experience in libraries and research, including work as editor and Information Specialist on the Cochrane Stroke Group systematic reviews project, with ongoing involvement in systematic review work. Skilled in delivering training across all levels, from basic library skills to advanced literature searching, referencing, bibliographic management, and specialised resources, through online classrooms, seminars, and one-to-one sessions. Highly experienced in advanced search techniques, including Boolean and adjacency operators, field and free-text searches, and applying rigorous methodology to healthcare and public health research. In-depth knowledge of controlled vocabularies (MeSH, MedRA, Emtree, SNOMED CT) and database interfaces (Ovid, EBSCO, PubMed, The Knowledge Network, ProQuest, Scopus, TRIP, Web of Science) enables the development of precise, reproducible, and audit-ready search strategies.

My time is divided between systematic review/ librarianship work, my workshop, and The Bull Inn.

Research Support Librarian:

• Search Strategy Construction: Expertise in constructing precise search strategies using Boolean logic, keyword selection, and controlled vocabularies (SNOMED, MeSH, CINAHL Subject Headings, Emtree). Skilled in advanced search syntax, optimising complex searches across academic and policy/grey literature sources, and selecting appropriate databases. Emphasis on transparent documentation through search Logs and developing repeatable, auditable workflows for dissertation research, including adapting and (re)use of search strategies across multiple databases and interfaces

• Systematic Review Search Methods: Expertise in advanced and systematic searching, with a focus on constructing detailed, reproducible search strategies and ensuring accuracy and completeness in information retrieval. Skilled in identifying, evaluating, and synthesising research evidence to support robust, evidence-based practice. Experienced in managing the full search process for systematic reviews, from scoping and database selection to transparent reporting and audit-ready documentation.

• Information Skills Training: Experienced in designing and delivering information skills training tailored to all levels of proficiency, from novice to expert. Proficient in teaching advanced research techniques, database navigation, and the principles of effective literature searching to diverse audiences. Work includes collaboration with academic departments, Research Services, postgraduate researchers, and active researchers, with services open to all UWS staff and researchers, including those engaged in Knowledge Transfer Partnerships (KTP). Committed to equipping users with the knowledge and tools needed to navigate information resources effectively.

Other areas of expertise:

• Research management, or direct support for research active staff (PGRs and PhD), including supporting the development of project specific Research Data Management (RDM) plans.  
• Expert advanced research skills support and guidance to individual researchers and research groups around advanced research skills, including literature review, citation analysis and reference management.   
• Raising awareness amongst the UWS academic community of the importance of engagement with PURE and methods of ensuring compliance with funder and research council requirements, including training sessions to academic staff and researchers.  
• Open Access (OA) publishing scheme, including checking the eligibility of requests for funding support and enquiries relating to OA publishing processes, including article processing charges (APCs)
• Support for publication and sharing of research, including identification of appropriate publication routes, research evaluation metrics, management of research data and the maintenance of research records and researcher profiles on PURE.   
• Advice on the analysis and interpretation of information and data to validate UWS research outputs, ensuring compliance with HEFCE/research funder open access and research data management policies, and eligibility for UWS Research Excellence Framework submissions.

I am always glad to set up an appointment for an in-person consultation or support your research. To request resources for research or teaching, arrange classes or book research consultations contact me via email or

Contact me with any enquiries on:

• Search strategy design and optimisation
• PRISMA-reporting and flowcharts
• Advanced and systematic literature searching
• Database selection and navigation (academic and policy/peer-reviewed/ "grey literature")
• Systematic review methods (from scoping, search methods to reporting, and publication)
• Research skills training and support for PGRs and staff
• Evidence-based practice and knowledge mobilisation
• Transparent documentation and audit/publication-ready search logs

Seymour, T. (2017). Common Buttons of Northwest Essex. Privately Published: Danebury.