Academic Librarian for Arts & Media
(currently working between my office in Ayr and home)
Welcome to the Journalism Subject Guide
As a student at UWS you have access to a huge range of resources that will be essential to your studies - books, journals, research databases and more. Knowing how to get the most out of these can feel overwhelming at first - the good news is that UWS Library is here to support you on each step of the journey.
This guide contains essential information for Journalism topics - use the side menu to access detailed guidance.
From the Collection
Where to Start Your Search
Use our Library catalogue One Search to search for print books, eBooks, journal articles and more from our library collection. The Library Guide for One Search will give you all the help you need to get started. Please use the links below.
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowOneSearch is UWS's in-house database. It functions as both a traditional library catalogue and platform to search a wide range of databases to find full-text journal articles. It covers all subject areas.
Expand Your Searching
One Search is a good general starting point for finding material on any topic. However, if you want to research a subject more widely then you should follow up by searching a more specialised database.
Research databases index the global literature and provide references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports etc that match your search criteria. You can tailor your search precisely and you can also target particular types of resources such as peer reviewed journals.
We have written detailed database guides for all the recommended databases below. You can connect to the databases from these guides or use the links below.
- Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new windowTaylor & Francis Online provides access to millions of quality, peer-reviewed journal articles published under the Taylor & Francis and Routledge imprints.
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Ultimate includes access to over 2,000 full text journals, including material on communication and creative industries.
- SAGE Journals This link opens in a new windowSAGE Journals provides full text access to world-class research journals in health sciences, social sciences, humanities, materials sciences, engineering, life and biomedical sciences.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowWiley Online Library provides full text access to eBooks and journals covering science, social science and humanities subjects.
Newspaper Sources
- GALE ONEFILE: News This link opens in a new windowGALE ONEFILE: News provides access to more than 2,000 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowAccess a catalogue of 7,000+ online newspapers and magazines covering over 120 countries, in more than 60 different languages.
- The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new windowThe Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage.
Statistical Database
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is a great source of global market and consumer data. It includes statistics, reports, infographics, surveys, industry and market reports. The portal is tracking more than 22,000 trusted data sources to help you quickly find and analyse business, social and demographic trends on various topics and industries.
Support
Please contact library staff if you would like to discuss your search strategies, experiences with the databases, referencing or if you are having difficulty accessing any information. We offer individual appointments through the whole year:
- Email library@uws.ac.uk
- Log a call on the Self Service Portal.
Copyright Statement
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. 