A-Z Databases: Taylor & Francis Online

Taylor & Francis is a database providing access to good quality peer reviewed journal articles. 

Taylor & Francis provides access to scholarly research in the following subject areas:

• Arts - including Film & Television, Journalism, Performance, Popular Music and Visual Arts
• Business - including Economics, Events, Human Resources, Law and Tourism
• Computer Science
• Education
• Environment
• Health
• Psychology and Social Sciences including Politics & International Relations

Use the database link below to access Taylor & Francis.

1. You will be prompted to enter your Microsoft sign in. 
2. You will need to sign in using your UWS e-mail address.

Basic Search

Taylor & Francis Online offers a basic/quick search option at the top of the homepage.

Select keywords and phrases to describe what you want to search (e.g. television drama and britain). Enter these in the search box provided and click on the magnifying glass icon to search.

Use the filters on the left side of the search results page to refine your search by full text access, subject, journal title or publication date.

Advanced Search

Take advantage of the advanced search option to add in extra search terms, narrow results down and get more useful results by using:

• Phrase search - including the terms in in quotation marks to ensure they appear together (e.g. "television drama") You can also perform an exact author search by enclosing the name (first and/or last) of the author in quotation marks.

• Boolean search:

  • AND (+) narrows down the results. All connected terms must be included in the results (e.g. television AND drama).

  • OR (|) broadens out the results. Either connected term can be included in the results (e.g. "television drama" OR  "tv drama").

  • NOT (-) narrows down the results. The second term must be excluded from the results (e.g. "television drama" NOT "true crime").

• Truncation symbol * to find variations of word endings (e.g. leaders* will find leaders and leadership).

The Advanced Search option also allows you to select the fields that you wish to search, such as Anywhere (including full text) or Title, Author or Keywords. 

You can add extra search boxes by clicking the + sign.

Getting the Full Text

As the Library does not subscribe to all of the journals  published by Taylor & Francis, it is recommended that you select the option 'Only show content I have access to' to find the articles you can view immediately in full text.

If the article is unavailable through our subscription, there is a chance for a free copy on the internet provided under an open access arrangement. Use Google Scholar to check. Type in one author's surname and add the title of the article in quotation marks (to look for the words in the same order). If the article is freely available, you will see a PDF or HTML notation to the right of the citation.

You may also be able to get the article by requesting an Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Watch a short video to see how Taylor & Francis have made their database more compatible with accessibility guidelines.

Taylor & Francis (2020) Accessibility on Taylor & Francis Online. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TkHh_gx2b0E (Accessed: 8 December 2020).

• Use the 'advanced search' for more focused searches
• Consider registering with T&F to make use of their 'saved search feature' and to be able to receive table of contents alerts
• Visit their YouTube channel for videos advising on publishing journal articles and open access publishing
• Follow Taylor & Francis on Twitter for up to date information

Accessibility Statement

This work in this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.