A-Z Databases: Statista: Welcome

Use Statista to find quantitative data in business, finance, politics, media, and marketing. The infographics feature enables you to reproduce charts, graphs and other reliable visual data in your assignments and presentations (remember to cite these). Statista contains data gathered from multiple sources and is an excellent resource for business students and researchers. 

Click Log In at the top right of the screen. A dialogue box will appear. 

Select Campus Access on the right of the dialogue box

Select University of the West of Scotland from the drop-down menu below Off Campus

Enter your University of the West of Scotland student email address and password when prompted.

Library staff are available to help you to use all of our online databases and electronic journal services. 

Contact us at library@uws.ac.uk or via the Self Service Portal. 

Searching Statista

The basic search is on the Statista Landing page with a few suggested basic keyword/ phrase searches. Some search suggestions will begin to appear as you type.  This is the main route into Statista’s resources. You can also explore the data using the shortcut at the topic of the page. This will cover each of the main sections: Statistics, Reports, and Insights.

On the results page, you will see the top ten most-used topic tags related to your search. Selecting these will help you refine your search results. Select ‘Filter’ to see additional options of further refining your topic

Content is broadly organised by the following content types: Statistics, Reports, Topics, Market Insights, Forecasts & Surveys, Infographics, Company Insights, eCommerce Insights and Consumer Insights.

Statista (2023) Get started with Statista. 12 January. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wW_bXgib6SI (Accessed: 27 August 2024)

Insights offer concise analyses of current events and trends across industries, providing quick snapshots of relevant data and developments

Statistics are essentially raw data that has been collected, organised, and presented in a user-friendly format. Statista aggregates data from various sources, such as government agencies, market research firms, and academic institutions, and then processes it into charts, graphs, tables, and infographics.

Reports are in-depth analytical documents that provide comprehensive insights into specific industries, markets, or topics. These reports are curated by Statista's team of experts and analysts and offer valuable information, including market trends, competitive analysis, consumer behaviour, and forecasts. They often include data visualisations, charts, graphs, and textual analysis to help readers understand complex information more easily. Statista Reports are valuable resources for anyone looking to gain deeper insights into various subjects and make informed decisions based on reliable data and analysis.

Under Reports, you can search the reports database or you can browse by report categories:

• Digital & Trend: Overview and forecasts on trending topics
• Industry & Market: Industry and market insights and forecasts
• Companies & Products: Key figures and rankings about companies and products
• Consumer & Brand: Consumer and brand insights and preferences in various industries
• Politics & Society: Detailed information about political and social topics
• Country & Region: All key figures about countries and regions

A number of useful tools are available from the navigation menu at the top of the screen. These include:

A glossary to help you identify and understand he various forms of statistical data.

On the database: 

Outlooks: provides overviews of market trends and industry developments within sectors and across geographical locations. 

Reports: High-quality in-depth information on important and trending topics.

Infographics: visual data in the form of charts, graphs, data sets and other media, downloadable in image, excel and PowerPoint formats. 

Publication Finder: a searchable database of over 3 million studies, reports, and dossiers from around the Web. 

Statista collects data from secondary sources, prioritizing quantitative facts. It subsequently provides swift and convenient access to this data. You can view a comprehensive database of their sources here.