Content, Coverage & Description
- GALE ONEFILE: News This link opens in a new windowGALE ONEFILE: News provides access to more than 2,000 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
How to Access
Go to Databases A-Z and select 'Gale OneFile: News'.
- You will be prompted to enter your Microsoft sign in.
- You will need to sign in using your UWS e-mail address.
When to Use
To find full text newspaper articles from:
- Wide range of international newspapers
- Newspapers from England, Wales and Northern Ireland
- Scottish newspapers
- Radio and TV broadcasts
- Media Images
How to Search - Basic
Gale offers a basic/quick search option at the top of the homepage.
Enter keywords and phrases to describe what you want to search (e.g. global warming and climate change). Enter these in the search box provided and click on the magnifying glass icon to search.
Your search results are automatically full text, which you can access by clicking on the article title. You can use the filters on the right side of the search results page to refine your search by:
- publication date
- subjects
- document type
- publication type,
- newspaper sections
- 'search within' function
How to Search - Advanced
Take advantage of the advanced search option to add in extra search terms and narrow your search narrow results by using:
- Phrase search - including the terms in quotation marks to ensure they appear together (e.g. "climate change")
- Boolean search:
- AND narrows down the results. All connected terms must be included in the results (e.g. "climate change" AND "global warming").
- OR broadens out the results. Either connected term can be included in the results (e.g. "climate change" OR "global warming").
- NOT narrows down the results. The second term must be excluded from the results (e.g. "climate change" NOT "weather conditions").
- Truncation symbol * to find variations of word endings (e.g. leaders* will find leaders and leadership).
The Advanced Search option also allows you to select the fields that you wish to search, including: Entire Document, Abstract, Author, Brand name, Company Name, Subject and Publication Country. More options are in the drop down menu.
You can add extra search boxes by clicking the + sign.
Publication Search
The Publication Search helps you find a specific source (individual newspaper titles for example) and get information about the publication or link to its content.
- Type all or part of a title and select from the suggestions
- Click or tap List All Publications to browse and filter the full list of available sources
Topic Finder
This tool takes the titles, subjects, and approximately the first 100 words from a subset of your top results and feeds them into an algorithm to produce a graphic, either tiles or a wheel. Keywords shown in the resulting graphic are those found most often in the text with your search term.
Subject Guide Search
The Subject Guide is like a thesaurus for finding the right search terms, especially when starting your research. Type in a topic and it will suggest preferred spellings and related terms.
Why Use the Subject Guide?
- To narrow a broad topic
- To discover new terms to research
Top Tips
- Plan your search strategy to obtain more relevant search results
- Keep a note of alternative keywords for additional searches
- In the 'Select a field' dropdown, select Abstract to make search results more focused
- Get Link - use this tool to generate a reliable permalink back to search results, individual articles, publications, and media content
- Highlights and notes - use this to add notes to articles etc as you read them. Before closing Gale OneFile: News or your browser, be sure to send, download, or print your Highlights and Notes, or they will be lost
Using with Reference Management Software
- You can use the 'Cite' function to format a reference in Harvard or other referencing styles like APA or Chicago
- Choose your style then click select - you can now copy and paste the reference
- Please note that the Harvard style here requires several small changes to be identical to Cite Them Right Harvard - required for UWS. Capitalise the 'A' in 'Available' and 'Accessed' and expand the month in the accessed date
- Gale OneFile: News works well with EndNote
- click 'Cite' and use 'Download RIS' - open with 'other' then choose EndNote to add reference to your EndNote Library
- Other reference management software options are also available
Additional Newspaper Resources
- The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new windowThe Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context. Read by both world leaders and the general public, The Times has offered readers in-depth, award-winning, objective coverage of world events since its creation in 1785 and is the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication. With over 12 million articles available, the archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest, including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy, along with coverage of all major international historical events.
Help & Support
- Book an appointment with an Academic LibrarianBook an appointment with a librarian for help with finding sources relevant to your programme, planning literature reviews and using bibliographic resources. Reference advice is also available.
- Contact library staffSee our contact details on our home page
- Self Service PortalSee our FAQs or log a call on the Self-Service Portal.
