Open Access
Many scholarly articles are now published on an Open Access basis, i.e. free access for all from the point of publication (or agreed time limit).
Some databases, e.g. Emerald Insight, offer a specific filter option to restrict search results to open access items only.
There are bibliographic services available to help you find open access items.
- Open Access ButtonSearch engine enabling free access to the full text of scholarly articles in compliance with copyright restrictions.
- Open Research Library This link opens in a new windowThe Open Research Library is a hosting platform for peer-reviewed, open access, scholarly monographs. Its aims is to include all OA book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery with a seamless experience.
- UnpaywallA service and browser extension providing legal (free) access to subscription journal articles.
Don't despair if the items you need are not published on an open access basis - other access options are available ...
What if the item I need is not in stock and not openly available?
Library staff may be able to help. Many journal articles and books can be sourced from other library collections in the UK.
- UWS Library - Inter Library loans (ILLs)Our dedicated guide to help you make requests for access to books and journal articles held in the British Library or other (mainly UK) Library collections.
Can Special Collections help?
Universities usually have archives or other Special Collections which curate an extensive catalogue of local and international primary source materials - original manuscripts, rare books, images, audio-visual materials and artwork - which inform research and promotes lifelong learning.
Additional access conditions usually apply to such collections.
UWS Special Collections & Archives is available to students, academic staff and to individuals with a strong subject interest.
See the website for details and access contacts.
Looking for books?
Search Library Hub Discover to explore the collections of many university and research libraries in the UK and further afield.
You can then request access to relevant titles through our Inter Library Loans service.
- Library Hub DiscoverSearch for books and other items in the collections of 170+ national, research and specialist libraries in the UK and Ireland
- UWS Library - Inter Library loans (ILLs)Our dedicated guide to help you make requests for access to books and journal articles held in the British Library or other (mainly UK) Library collections.
Looking for international theses?
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations lists collections of a country's collated theses. Search the whole site or first select an individual collection.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and DissertationsA country-by-country and generic international collection of theses repositories. Search the whole site or an individual collection.
Local and specialist libraries
A national agreement - SCONUL Access - is in place to enable access for students to the holdings of other academic and research institutions. Please see their website to register and for details of scheme members.
- SCONUL AccessSCONUL Access is a scheme which allows many university library users to study spaces or books and journals at other libraries which belong to the scheme. Some library users may be able to borrow print books from other libraries too.
Anyone with a postal address in Scotland can join the National Library of Scotland to visit the Edinburgh reading rooms or access the online collections of one of the major research libraries in Europe.
- National Library of Scotland (NLS)A reference and digitised collection of over 24 million items - books, manuscripts, maps, music (print and recordings), photographs, posters, postcards, newspapers, magazines, electronic journals and CD-ROMS - on multiple subjects.
Business students are welcome to approach the Business & IP Centre in Glasgow's Mitchell Library for assistance with specialist enquiries.
- Business & IP Centre, GlasgowMitchell Library service offering advice for business-related intellectual property enquiries and access to resources covering financial, business and economic news
Students on nursing, social work and related courses can register with the NHS Scotland's Knowledge Network to access additional book and e-resources.
- The Knowledge Network This link opens in a new windowThe Knowledge Network is the national knowledge management platform for health and social care in Scotland. It is developed and maintained by the Knowledge Services group at NHS Education for Scotland. The Knowledge Network library search offers a single interface to search NHSScotland’s national collection of electronic resources (e-journals, articles and e-books) provided by NHS Education for Scotland, along with all the local NHSScotland library collections (primarily print books).