Library Guides: Dissertation Support: Where to look to get started (UWS)

Getting started - books and journal articles

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is UWS's in-house database. It functions as both a traditional library catalogue and platform to search a wide range of databases to find full-text journal articles. It covers all subject areas.

Login to OneSearch (Library Search) to:

Discover print books, electronic books (eBooks), journal articles, dissertations and more. Our collection includes titles on study skills and research methods as well as subject disciplines.
Reserve print books to guarantee access or link directly to eBooks and articles.
Save, email or print result lists.
Create your own reading list as you go.

Learn how with our OneSearch guide and introductory videos.

SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink provides access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.

A note on login details

UWS Library pays to access many e-books, journals and databases.

Students and staff need to enter a login to access these items - this will be your university email address and password.

Note: some services offer multiple login methods. Look for the 'Login via your institution' option.

Remember that access to selected resources may only be possible from specific links on OneSearch or other library pages, e.g. the A-Z guide.

Don't forget:

Your usual search engine, e.g. Google, will be a good resource for finding:

Introductory information on your topic.
Prominent organisations in your field.
Supporting documentation, e.g. governmental advice, reports, industry guidance or similar.

Wikipedia is a useful starting point for learning about new topics, and accessing selected in-depth sources. Generally though, Wikipedia entries are not deemed appropriate for including in assignments as anyone can be a contributor whether a subject expert or not.

Google Books is another potential source for textbooks. Some items are available wholly, or partially, free of charge.