Selected public health nursing texts available through the Library
Welcome to the Public Health Nursing Subject Guide
This is your guide to how the library can support you when studying and researching Public Health Nursing at UWS.
You will find links to the publicly available and specialist information resources (books, journals, subject-specific bibliographic databases) you’ll be expected to use to find the best research evidence. In addition, there is advice on using information sources effectively as a health professional.
Where to Start Your Search
Use our Library catalogue One Search to search for print books, eBooks, journal articles and more from our library collection.The Library Guide for One Search will give you all the guidance you need to use it with confidence.
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowOneSearch is UWS's in-house database. It functions as both a traditional library catalogue and platform to search a wide range of databases to find full-text journal articles. It covers all subject areas.
Expand your search to specialist databases
One Search is a good general starting point for finding books and eBooks. It can also be used to find journal articles on any topic. However, if you want to research a subject systematically, you should follow up by searching a more specialised database.
Bibliographic databases index the global (academic and professional) literature and provide references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports etc that match your search criteria. You can tailor your search precisely and you can also target particular types of resources such as peer reviewed journals.
Some of these databases are aimed at practitioners and cover a range of materials while others only index research and scholarly journal articles. See the database guides for tips on using each one.
Core resources:
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowCINAHL provides full text access to articles in professional and academic journals on nursing, midwifery, and allied health care. Also, it is an index of English-language and selected other-language journal articles about nursing, allied health, biomedicine and healthcare.
- Social Care Online This link opens in a new windowSocial Care Online offers information and research on all aspects of social care, e.g. mental health, social policy. The Content is drawn from a range of resources including journal articles, websites, research reviews, legislation and government documents, and service user knowledge.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX is the authoritative bibliographic database for sociology research. It offers millions of indexed records from top sociology journals covering many subjects including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowPsychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection provides full access to literature in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology and observational and/or experimental methods.
See the 'Specialist Resources' tab to broaden your search beyond the core resources above.
Meet your Academic Librarian
Any questions - ask the library staff
Looking for assistance?
- See the Quick Links box above for links to our referencing, dissertation and other guides that might prove useful..
- Please email library staff, or log a call on the self-service portal, if you have any questions on using library services and resources.
- Book an appointment with an Academic LibrarianBook an appointment with a librarian for help with finding sources relevant to your programme, planning literature reviews and using bibliographic resources. Reference advice is also available.
- Self Service PortalLogin to the online Self Service Portal to check the FAQs, log a call - ask your question or report an issue, and review the progress of your requests.
