Library Guides: Public Health Nursing: Specialist Resources for Public Health Nursing

Books (print books and e-books)

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is UWS's in-house database. It functions as both a traditional library catalogue and platform to search a wide range of databases to find full-text journal articles. It covers all subject areas.

Wiley Nursing Collection February 2022
The list of Wiley Nursing titles for which we have full text access. Individual items on the list can be searched on One Search with full text made available on the Kortext platform.

VLeBooks This link opens in a new window
VLeBooks is an eBook platform. It provides access to eBooks from from the world's leading publishers on a wide range of subjects.
Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.

Help on using VLEbooks
Most of our eBooks on One Search are on a platform called VLEbooks - this guide explains how to use it.

SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink provides access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.

Library Guide for SpringerLink
Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical and Cancer Nursing Procedures
The Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures Online provides users with up-to-date, evidence-based clinical skills and processes essential to delivering an exceptional level of patient care

Journal articles

Core resources

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL provides full text access to articles in professional and academic journals on nursing, midwifery, and allied health care. Also, it is an index of English-language and selected other-language journal articles about nursing, allied health, biomedicine and healthcare.
Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection provides full access to literature in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology and observational and/or experimental methods.
Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source is claimed to be the world's largest full-text research database designed for education students, professionals and policymakers. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for thousands of education journals, books and education-related conference papers.
Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
Social Care Online This link opens in a new window
Social Care Online offers information and research on all aspects of social care, e.g. mental health, social policy. The Content is drawn from a range of resources including journal articles, websites, research reviews, legislation and government documents, and service user knowledge.
Not Searchable via One Search.
It is free to search but to use all of its features (CIELine ebulletin & access all resources) you need a Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE) account.
Register with your university email address for the Free MySCIE account.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX is the authoritative bibliographic database for sociology research. It offers millions of indexed records from top sociology journals covering many subjects including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.
Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.

Other Public Health Nursing resources:

PubMed
PubMed is a search engine indexing citations from biomedical literature collated by the United States' National Library of Medicine. Some items are available open access from the integrated PubMed Central collection.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of databases, such as: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) and a number of special collections. They contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Not Searchable via One Search.
All residents of Scotland can access the Cochrane Library for free, thanks to funding provided by NHS Education for Scotland.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Emerald Insight provides abstracts and full text articles from academic journals covering the subject areas of marketing, management, human resources, quality, economics, information management, operations, engineering, production and property, education, health and social care.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
Learn more from our LibGuide created by expert librarians.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals provides full text access to world-class research journals in health sciences, social sciences, humanities, materials sciences, engineering, life and biomedical sciences.
Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis Online provides access to millions of quality, peer-reviewed journal articles published under the Taylor & Francis and Routledge imprints.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides subscription-based access to multiple databases that provide comprehensive citation data for many different academic disciplines. It was originally produced by the Institute for Scientific Information.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library provides full text access to eBooks and journals covering science, social science and humanities subjects.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access

RCNi journals
access to a bespoke selection of journals within the collection, providing health professionals with the latest developments, including changes in policy, practice and research
more...less...
Not searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.

The Knowledge Network This link opens in a new window
The Knowledge Network is the national knowledge management platform for health and social care in Scotland. It is developed and maintained by the Knowledge Services group at NHS Education for Scotland. The Knowledge Network library search offers a single interface to search NHSScotland’s national collection of electronic resources (e-journals, articles and e-books) provided by NHS Education for Scotland, along with all the local NHSScotland library collections (primarily print books).
Not Searchable via One Search.
Users sign in to access resources and services using an NHSScotland OpenAthens username and password. These usernames are available for everyone working in health and social care in Scotland. Please look for details at The Knowledge Network portal.

See 'Registering for an NHS Open Athens account' below for more details.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine (academic search engine) that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
Not Searchable via One Search.
No login required.

To add UWS Library subscriptions to your Google Scholar settings, see Finding Sources.

Registering for an NHS Open Athens account

Are you on placement with, or employed by, the NHS, social services or a related agency in Scotland?

If so, you can register for an NHS Open Athens account and and access a wider range of journal articles, books and other NHS Library services:

Students on placement:

Use the registration link below. You will be asked for your university email address during the registration process.
Wait for your separate username and password to be confirmed by email. Note: this may take 2-3 days.
Login and search the collection as relevant.

NHS and local authority staff

Sign-in to OpenAthens to access library services, including Library Search and SSKS Library Search, along with e-journals, databases and evidence summaries, using your NHS Scotland or local authority email address and password.

Knowledge Network registration
Using NHS Scotland's Digital Library
NHS Scotland's guide to searching and using their Library Search and Clinical Evidence features.
more...less...
No login required.
How to search literature effectively
NHS Scotland's series of short (20 minutes) modules on developing search skills on health and social care related topics.
more...less...
Turas Learn account required - see instructions are on the front page.

Policy papers and other evidence

Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC)
The Nursing and Midwifery Council is the professional regulator for nurses and midwives in the UK, and nursing associates in England.
The Scottish Government: Children and Families
The Scottish Government's policies related to children and families
The Scottish Government: Education
The Scottish Government's policies related to education.
Health and Social Care Alliance Scotland
The Health and Social Care Alliance Scotland (the ALLIANCE) is the national third sector intermediary agency for health and social care organisations.
Healthcare Improvement Scotland
Healthcare Improvement Scotland provides information and evidence to enable citizens to make informed decisions about their care and treatment and health and social care organisations to continuously improve their services. Includes SIGN guidelines.

Social Care Online This link opens in a new window
Social Care Online offers information and research on all aspects of social care, e.g. mental health, social policy. The Content is drawn from a range of resources including journal articles, websites, research reviews, legislation and government documents, and service user knowledge.
Not Searchable via One Search.
It is free to search but to use all of its features (CIELine ebulletin & access all resources) you need a Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE) account.
Register with your university email address for the Free MySCIE account.
Social Work Toolkit This link opens in a new window
Content is divided into five key themes typically found on a Social Work course: Communication Skills; Professionalism in Practice; Ethics, Values and Diversity; Assessment and Intervention and Lifecourse Perspectives.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access.

Scottish Public Health Observatory
Provides data on health, risk factors, behaviours and wider health determinants in Scotland.
Office for National Statistics
The UK's national statistical institute responsible for collecting and publishing statistics related to the economy, population and society at national, regional and local level.