Library Guides: Performance: Home

Welcome to the Performance Subject Guide

As a student at UWS you have access to a huge range of resources that will be essential to your studies - books, journals, research databases and more. Knowing how to get the most out of these can feel overwhelming at first - fortunately UWS Library is here to support you on each step of the journey.

This guide contains essential information for all Performance topics - use the menu to access additional guidance or the quick links.

Where to Start Your Search

Use our Library catalogue One Search to search for print books, eBooks, journal articles and more from our library collection.The Library Guide for One Search will give you all the guidance you need to use it with confidence.

Library Guide for One Search

OneSearch
OneSearch is used to search both online and print resources available through UWS library services and covers all subject areas

Expand Your Searching

One Search is a good general starting point for finding material on any topic. However, if you want to research a subject more widely then you should follow up by searching a more specialised database.

Research databases index the global literature and provide references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports etc that match your search criteria. You can tailor your search precisely and you can also target particular types of resources such as peer reviewed journals.

We have written detailed database guides for all the recommended databases below. You can connect to the databases from these guides or use the links below.

Cambridge Core
Cambridge Core provides full text of many eBooks and journals published by Cambridge University Press, many accessible from 1997, or Volume 1 if published later. It covers a number of different subjects.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
Digital Theatre+
Unlimited access to thousands of resources for English and the Performing Arts, covering award-winning productions, different genres, themes and forms. Includes video, written resources and a wealth of study materials
Not searchable via One Search
Log in using your staff/student email address, then type the name of your institution when prompted
Drama Online Library
DRAMA ONLINE offers a collection of full text plays from ancient, modern and contemporary playwrights, from Aeschylus to the present day. Content is organised by plays, playwrights and practitioners, context and criticism, and theatre craft, and includes books, filmed live performances, audio recordings and study guides.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access.
Upon login you will be required to consent to license terms.
Screen Studies
Digital platform offering a broad range of content including books, screenplays, overview articles and learning resources from Bloomsbury, Faber & Faber, the British Film Institute, Focal Press and Auteur (LUP).
Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
SpringerLink
SpringerLink provides access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
Taylor & Francis Online
Taylor & Francis Online provides access to millions of quality, peer-reviewed journal articles published under the Taylor & Francis and Routledge imprints.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.

Theatre Reviews

An internet search is a good way to start looking for reviews of theatre productions, especially contemporary productions.

If you want to search comprehensively though and especially if you are looking for historical reviews, or a range of different productions of the same play, you might like to use the full text databases below. Most of the content in these is not searchable via Google.

Library Guide for GALE ONEFILE: News

GALE ONEFILE: News
GALE ONEFILE: News provides access to more than 2,000 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
PressReader
Access a catalogue of 7,000+ online newspapers and magazines covering over 120 countries, in more than 60 different languages.
Not searchable on One Search
The Vogue Archive
The Vogue Archive is a searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution colour page images. It is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.

Shakespeare on Screen

An International Database of Shakespeare on Film, Television and Radio

This authoritative online database of Shakespeare-related content in film, television, radio and video recordings is international in scope, is regularly updated and currently holds over 9,200 records dating from the 1890s to the present day.

Lockdown Shakespeare: New Evolutions in Performance and Adaptation by Gemma Allred, Benjamin Broadribb and Erin Sullivan (eds.)

Monologues

We have an interesting selection of print books of monologues in the library, these can be located by searching on the keyword 'monologues' in One Search.

You can also locate monologues in the Drama Online database by using the monologue search function.

100 Great Monologs by Rebecca Young

Research/Dissertations

More information on research and dissertation support is available on the Creative Practice as Research tab.

Support

Please contact library staff if you are having difficulty finding and accessing appropriate library resources, issues with referencing or any other library related enquiries.