Academic Librarian for Arts & Media
(currently working between my office in Ayr and home)
Welcome to the Music Subject Guide
As a student at UWS you have access to a huge range of resources that will be essential to your studies - books, journals, research databases and more. Knowing how to get the most out of these can feel overwhelming at first - the good news is that UWS Library is here to support you on each step of the journey.
This guide contains essential information for Music topics - use the menu to access detailed guidance.
Recommended Books from Our Collection
Where to Start Your Search
Use our Library catalogue One Search to search for print books, eBooks, journal articles and more from our library collection. The library guide will give you all the guidance you need to use One Search with confidence.
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowOneSearch is UWS's in-house database. It functions as both a traditional library catalogue and platform to search a wide range of databases to find full-text journal articles. It covers all subject areas.
Expand Your Searching
One Search is a good general starting point for finding material on any topic. However, if you want to research a subject more widely then you should follow up by searching a more specialised database.
Research databases index the global literature and provide references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports etc that match your search criteria. You can tailor your search precisely and you can also target particular types of resources such as peer reviewed journals.
We have written detailed database guides for all the recommended databases below. You can connect to the databases from these guides or use the links below.
- Bloomsbury Popular Music This link opens in a new windowA digital resource including music, ethnomusicology, the performing arts, media and communication, cultural studies, anthropology and sociology.
- Cambridge Core This link opens in a new windowCambridge Core provides the full text of many eBooks and journals published by Cambridge University Press, with a good coverage of music.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowSpringerLink provides access to journals, books, reference works and conferences.
- Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new windowTaylor & Francis Online provides access to millions of quality, peer-reviewed journal articles published under the Taylor & Francis and Routledge imprints.
Newspapers and Music Magazines
- GALE ONEFILE: News This link opens in a new windowGALE ONEFILE: News provides full text searchable access to more than 2,000 major world newspapers including all Scottish and UK newspapers.
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowIn addition to 7000+ online newspapers and magazines, PressReader also gives access to a wide range of music magazines including Rolling Stone for example. Once you are logged in, scroll down to the list of categories on the home screen and select music to see the full range of titles available.
33 1/3 Series
33 1/3 is a series of books, each about a single music album. The series title refers to the rotation speed of a vinyl LP, 33+1⁄3 RPM. We have the books from this series as a mix of print books and eBooks. Search on '33 1/3 series' in One Search for a list of titles.
Support
Please contact library staff if you would like to discuss your search strategies, experiences with the databases, referencing, or if you are having difficulty accessing any information. We offer individual appointments through the whole year:
- Email library@uws.ac.uk
- Log a call on the Self Service Portal.
- Book an Academic Librarian Appointment
Copyright Statement
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. 