Library Guides: Film, Radio &amp; Television: Home

Welcome to the Subject Guide for Film, Radio & Television

As a student at UWS you have access to a huge range of resources that will be essential to your studies - books, journals, DVDs, film streaming, research databases and more. Knowing how to get the most out of these can feel overwhelming at first - but UWS Library is here to support you on each step of the journey.

This guide contains essential information for research and study on film, radio or television topics - use the tabs at the side of the page to access detailed guidance.

Where to Start Your Search

Use our Library catalogue One Search to search for print books, eBooks, journal articles and more. The library guide for One Search will give you all the help you need to get started. Otherwise please click the link below.

Library Guide for One Search

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is UWS's in-house database. It functions as both a traditional library catalogue and platform to search a wide range of databases to find full-text journal articles. It covers all subject areas.

Additional eBooks

Screen Studies This link opens in a new window
Screen Studies offers a broad range of screen content including books, screenplays, overview articles and learning resources from Bloomsbury, Faber & Faber, the British Film Institute, Focal Press and Auteur (LUP).
Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink provides access to millions of documents from journals, books, reference works across all academic subjects. Especially good for broadcasting.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.

Expand Your Searching

One Search is a good general starting point for finding material on any topic. However, if you want to research a subject more widely then you should follow up by searching a more specialised database.

Research databases index the global literature and provide references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports etc that match your search criteria. You can tailor your search precisely and you can also target particular types of resources such as peer reviewed journals.

We have written detailed database guides for the recommended databases below. You can connect to the databases from these guides or use the links below.

Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Business Source Ultimate includes access to over 2,000 full text journals covering business and industry, including the creative industries.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis Online provides access to millions of quality, peer-reviewed journal articles across academic subjects and is especially useful for all media, screen and broadcasting subjects.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
Ingenta Connect This link opens in a new window
Particularly helpful for film adaptation topics.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals provides full text access to research journals and is a useful source for articles about film and cinema.
Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library provides full text access to eBooks and journals covering science, social science and humanities subjects. Good for broadcasting, radio and television topics.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access

Print Journals in Film, TV and Media at Ayr Campus Library

There are some journals to which we only have print subscriptions, because of availability or affordability options. At the Ayr Campus Library we have a number of very useful print journals available on the journal display shelves as you enter the Library on level 3.

American Cinematographer
Broadcast
JCMS - Journal of Cinema & Media Studies
Sight & Sound
Televisual

DVDs and Streaming Films / TV Programmes

The Library has an extensive collection of DVDs which are form an important historical resource of films and TV programmes. These are all listed in the library catalogue One Search by title and director.

DVD players connected to screens for student use are available at the Ayr Campus Library in group study rooms 4 and 5.

Library Guide for BFI Player

BFI Player This link opens in a new window
BFI Player is a video on demand service from the British Film Institute, streaming acclaimed, landmark and archive films, with the focus on British and European independent films, as well as international releases.
Registration is required for first-time access - please use your UWS email address.
Returning users can scroll down to login, or use this link: https://player.bfi.org.uk/sign-in?destination=/academic/subscribe
ClickView This link opens in a new window
ClickView is a streaming platform providing access to educational videos and resources covering a broad range of topics as well as TV programmes and films.
Not Searchable via One Search.

Use your University of the West of Scotland email address to login, then choose Institutional access.

Waterbear.com is the first interactive streaming platform dedicated to the future of our planet.

Television Statistics

Students are permitted to include in their work the data featured on BARB, but the information should not be used in any wider publication without a BARB subscription.

BARB
Founded by the major players in the UK television and advertising industry, BARB is responsible for delivering the UK’s television audience ratings.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a great source of global market and consumer data. It includes statistics, reports, infographics, surveys, industry and market reports. Very helpful for statistics on the Arts and Creative Industries.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.

Fulltext Newspaper Sources

GALE ONEFILE: News This link opens in a new window
GALE ONEFILE: News provides access to more than 2,000 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Access a catalogue of 7,000+ online newspapers and magazines covering over 120 countries, in more than 60 different languages.
Not searchable on One Search

British Film & Television History

Achive Projects BFI
The curatorial and archive teams work to showcase the vast collections of the BFI National Archive and to bring them to a wider audience in cinemas, on television, on DVD and online.
Film Comment Archive
Researcher's Guide to Screen Heritage
Here users can search for moving image content, artefacts and sound collections from across the UK.

Screen Online This link opens in a new window
British Film Institute videos, sound extracts and information covering the history of British film and television.
Not searchable via One Search.
On campus use only.

Archives Footage

The websites below provide archive media that is either copyright-free (in the public domain) or can be used under a free Creative Commons license. It needs to be properly acknowledged and referenced.

Copyright

Quick Links

Support

Please contact library staff if you are having difficulty finding and accessing appropriate library resources, issues with referencing or any other library related enquiries.