Library Guides: Art: Home

Welcome to the Art Subject Guide

This is your guide to how the library can support you when studying and researching all aspects of Art at UWS.

As a student at UWS you have access to a huge range of resources that will be essential to your studies - books, journals, research databases and more. Knowing how to get the most out of these can seem overwhelming at first - but UWS Library is here to support you on each step of the journey.

This guide contains essential information for all Art topics - use the menu to access detailed guidance as well as the quick links box.

Art Books From Our Collection

Book cover for the story of scottish design

Where to Start Your Search

Use our library catalogue One Search to search for print books, eBooks, journal articles and more. We have many useful books in the UWS Library collection on all aspects of media and art.

Library Guide for One Search

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is UWS's in-house database. It functions as both a traditional library catalogue and platform to search a wide range of databases to find full-text journal articles. It covers all subject areas.

Expand Your Searching

One Search is a good general starting point for finding material on any topic. However, if you want to research a subject more widely then you should follow up by searching a more specialised database.

Research databases index the global literature and provide references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports etc that match your search criteria. You can tailor your search precisely and you can also target particular types of resources such as peer reviewed journals.

The following databases are all recommended for Art topics.

Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis Online provides extensive access to quality, peer-reviewed journal articles published on a wide range of subjects including the arts.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX is a database with a fcous from a Social Science perspective and is useful for journal articles where Art intersects with sociey.
Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink provides access to millions of documents from journals, books, reference works and conference proceedings.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Onlimne provides access to journal articles and eBooks on a wide variety of academic subjects. It is useful for art topics.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Business Source Ultimate includes access to over 2,000 full text journals, including material on the communication and creative industries.
SCRAN This link opens in a new window
SCRAN is an online learning service of the charity Historic Environment Scotland. It contains over 400,000 images and media from museums, galleries, and archives. It aims to advance public education by enabling access to Scotland's culture, heritage and related material.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.

Exhibition Reviews

The newspaper databases listed below are a useful source for reviews of art exhibitions, for either historical reviews or reviews of contemporary exhibitions.

Library Guide for GALE ONEFILE: News

GALE ONEFILE: News This link opens in a new window
GALE ONEFILE: News provides access to more than 2,000 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Access a catalogue of 7,000+ online newspapers and magazines covering over 120 countries, in more than 60 different languages.
Not searchable on One Search
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.

Art Magazines (general interest)

The PressReader database doesn't only give full text access to newspapers. It also covers a wide range of magazines including over 100 Art magazines.

Scroll down the home screen until you reach the categories section and select Art. From there you can select whichever magazines most interest you to your list of 'My Publications' for easy access.

PressReader This link opens in a new window
Access a catalogue of 7,000+ online newspapers and magazines covering over 120 countries, in more than 60 different languages.
Not searchable on One Search

Quick Links

Support

Please contact library staff if you are having difficulty finding and accessing appropriate library resources, issues with referencing or any other library related enquiries.

Email library@uws.ac.uk

If you need help with academic writing, please book an appointment with the Academic Skills Advisers.

Study Skills (Academic Skills Advisers)

Copyright Statement

Accessibility Statement

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.