Welcome to the CBT Subject Guide
This is your guide to how the library can support you when studying and researching Cognitive Behaviour Therapy at UWS.
The guide provides links to specialist information resources (books, journals, subject-specific bibliographic databases) available to support your studies and to other relevant services.
Where to Start Your Search
Use our Library catalogue One Search to search for print books, eBooks, journal articles and more from our library collection.The Library Guide for One Search will give you all the guidance you need to use it with confidence.
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowOneSearch is UWS's in-house database. It functions as both a traditional library catalogue and platform to search a wide range of databases to find full-text journal articles. It covers all subject areas.
Expand your search to specialist databases
One Search is a good general starting point for finding material on any topic. However, if you want to research a subject more widely then you should follow up by searching a more specialised database.
Bibliographic databases index the global (academic and professional) literature and provide references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports etc that match your search criteria. You can tailor your search precisely and you can also target particular types of resources such as peer reviewed journals.
Some of these databases are aimed at practitioners and cover a range of materials while others only index research and scholarly journal articles. See the database guides for tips on using each one.
Core resources:
- APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycArticles, from the American Psychological Association (APA), provides full-text access to almost 80 journals published by American Psychological Association and other publishers in subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, social/personality, and more. It covers the period 1894 to present.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowPsychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection provides full access to literature in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology and observational and/or experimental methods.
- APA PsycBooks This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycBooks, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a database of more than 38,000 chapters in PDF format from over 2,500 books published by APA and other publishers. It also includes over 1,600 classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology dating from the 1600s and access to more than 1,500 authored entries from the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX is the authoritative bibliographic database for sociology research. It offers millions of indexed records from top sociology journals covering many subjects including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.
See the 'Specialist Resources' tab to broaden your search beyond the core resources above.
Librarian (Teaching and Learning; Research Support)
Any questions - ask the library staff
Looking for more?
- See the Quick Links box above for links to our referencing, dissertation and other guides that might prove useful..
- Book an appointment with an Academic Librarian to discuss the most appropriate search terms and resources for your topic/assignment.
- Please email library staff, or log a call on the self-service portal, if you have any questions on using library services and resources.
- Self Service PortalAll students and staff members have access to an online Self Service Portal to search through the answers to FAQs, log calls or place service requests and review the progress of any submitted requests.
