Library Guides: Education: Home

Welcome to the Education Subject Guide

As a student at UWS you have access to a huge range of resources that will be essential to your studies - books, journals, research databases and more. Knowing how to get the most out of these can feel overwhelming at first - the good news is that UWS Library is here to support you on each step of the journey.

This guide contains essential information for all Education topics - use the side menu to access detailed guidance.

UWS Library has a Wide Ranging Education Collection

Where to Start Your Search

Use our Library catalogue One Search to search for print books, eBooks, journal articles and more. The 'Using One Search' tab above will give you all the help you need to get started. Otherwise please click the link below.

Library Guide for One Search

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is UWS's in-house database. It functions as both a traditional library catalogue and platform to search a wide range of databases to find full-text journal articles. It covers all subject areas.

Expand Your Searching

One Search is a good general starting point for finding material on any topic. However, if you want to research a subject more widely then you should follow up by searching a more specialised database.

Research databases index the global literature and provide references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports etc that match your search criteria. You can tailor your search precisely and you can also target particular types of resources such as peer reviewed journals.

Education Source is a comprehensive database for all Education topics that we particularly recommend. The Library Guide for Education Source has guidance on how to search the database.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source is a full-text research database designed for education students, professionals and policymakers. It provides full-text access to thousands of education journal articles, ebooks and conference papers.
Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.

Other Useful Databases

Here is a list of additional databases that are also useful for education topics. Taylor & Francis is particularly helpful for education research.

Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Unlimited access to thousands of resources for English and the Performing Arts, covering award-winning productions, different genres, themes and forms. Includes video, written resources and a wealth of study materials
Not searchable via One Search
Log in using your staff/student email address, then type the name of your institution when prompted
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink provides access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis Online provides access to millions of quality, peer-reviewed journal articles published under the Taylor & Francis and Routledge imprints.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library provides full text access to eBooks and journals covering science, social science and humanities subjects.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access

Support

Please contact library staff if you are having difficulty finding and accessing appropriate library resources, issues with referencing or any other library related enquiries.