Welcome to theSport Science Subject Guide
As a student at UWS you have access to a huge range of resources - books, journals, databases and more. Knowing how to get the most out of these might seem overwhelming at first. The good news is that UWS Library is here to support you on each step of the journey.
Key resources are listed below, with more tips and links on other pages in this guide.
Texts for Sport Science
Where to Start Your Search
Use our Library catalogue One Search to search for print books, eBooks, journal articles and more. The 'Using One Search' tab above will give you all the help you need to get started. Otherwise please click the link below.
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowOneSearch is UWS's in-house database. It functions as both a traditional library catalogue and platform to search a wide range of databases to find full-text journal articles. It covers all subject areas.
Expand your searching
One Search is a good general starting point for finding material on any topic. However, if you want to research a subject more widely then you should follow up by searching a more specialised database.
Research databases index the global literature and provide references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports etc that match your search criteria. You can tailor your search precisely and you can also target particular types of resources such as peer reviewed journals.
Specialist databases especially relevant to Sport Science are:
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSPORTDiscus is an index to literature relating to sport, physical education and fitness. It includes references to books, book chapters, conference proceedings, journal articles, magazines and dissertations.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science provides subscription-based access to multiple databases that provide comprehensive citation data for many different academic disciplines. It was originally produced by the Institute for Scientific Information.
- Human Kinetics Library This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to a collection of sports, nutrition and fitness e-books.
Other key resources for Sport Science
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is claimed to be the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Also, it provides tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE (1950-present) is the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier life science database.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is claimed to be the world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research. Explore journals, books and articles.
- Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new windowTaylor & Francis Online provides access to millions of quality, peer-reviewed journal articles published under the Taylor & Francis and Routledge imprints.
- PubMedPubMed is a search engine indexing citations from biomedical literature collated by the United States' National Library of Medicine. Some items are available open access from the integrated PubMed Central collection.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowCINAHL provides full text access to articles in professional and academic journals on nursing, midwifery, and allied health care. Also, it is an index of English-language and selected other-language journal articles about nursing, allied health, biomedicine and healthcare.
Any questions - ask the library staff
Looking for more?
- See the Quick Links box above for links to our referencing, dissertation and other guides that might prove useful..
- Book an appointment with an Academic Librarian to discuss the most appropriate search terms and resources for your topic/assignment.
- Please email library staff, or log a call on the self-service portal, if you have any questions on using library services and resources.
- Self Service PortalAll students and staff members have access to an online Self Service Portal to search through the answers to FAQs, log calls or place service requests and review the progress of any submitted requests.
