Journal articles
Lots of research around events and tourism is multi-disciplinary. This means it covers more than one academic field - for example, you might be interested in consumer behaviour (psychology), pricing of events (economics) or the social impact of events and tourism.
The resources below cover a range of topics. You can also visit our guide homepage, select 'By Subject' and pick the area you are interested in to find additional databases.
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Ultimate includes a range of business journals, industry reports and country and company profiles.
- Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new windowTaylor & Francis Online covers a wide range of subject areas. There is a specific section for Tourism, Hospitality and Events.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new windowEmerald searches for articles from subject areas across business including tourism, events, marketing, management, human resources and economics.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database covers a range of journals related to sport, including sport tourism.
- CABI Digital Library This link opens in a new windowResearch and learning in agriculture, the environment and the applied life sciences
- Google ScholarA widely available search engine that indexes academic and professional level journal articles, and reports.
We have online guides for the databases listed here:
Markets and industry reports
- Mintel This link opens in a new windowMintel is a specialist tool for market research. It includes UK market reports in consumer sectors and has a dedicated section about travel, leisure and entertainment.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista contains a huge range of market, consumer and industry data. You can search for specific countries, industries or brands.
Useful websites
- Business Visits and Events Partnership (BVEP)An umbrella organisation comprised of various professional bodies, government agencies and influencers. Its goal is to promote sustainable growth in the UK's events industry.
- Complete Business Reference (COBRA)This resource is available from the Business and IP Centre at Glasgow Libraries (public libraries) and is free to use with a Glasgow Library card. It's designed for people looking to start out in business and has lots of useful information on different industries and sectors.
- Office for National Statistics - Tourism IndustryOfficial tourism data for the UK.
- World Tourism Organization (UNWTO)A United Nations agency which works to promote responsible, sustainable tourism.
- VisitScotlandThe national tourism association for Scotland.
Help & Support
- Book an appointment with an Academic LibrarianBook an appointment with a librarian for help with finding sources relevant to your programme, planning literature reviews and using bibliographic resources. Reference advice is also available.
- Contact library staffSee our contact details on our home page
- Self Service PortalSee our FAQs or log a call on the Self-Service Portal.
Copyright Statement
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. 