Welcome to the Law subject guide
This comprehensive law resources guide equips you with vital information on how to effectively discover, evaluate, and reference legal information for your assignments. Should you have any specific inquiries related to legal research or require individualised assistance, please do not hesitate to book an appointment with a member of the Academic Librarians team. UWS Library Services are here to support and address any questions you may have regarding legal resources and research methodologies.
As a UWS student you have access to a huge range of resources that will be essential to your studies. For Law, your key databases are Westlaw and Lexis+ UK - you can find the links below and throughout this guide.
Where to start your search
Use our Library catalogue One Search to search for print books, eBooks, journal articles and more. The 'Using One Search' tab above will give you all the help you need to get started. Otherwise please click the link below.
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowOneSearch is UWS's in-house database. It functions as both a traditional library catalogue and platform to search a wide range of databases to find full-text journal articles. It covers all subject areas.
Find legal resources with Westlaw and Lexis
Lexis+UK, Westlaw, HeinOnline, and Bloomsbury Professional Online are indispensable legal research platforms tailored to meet the needs of legal professionals. Lexis+UK offers comprehensive legal content, including case law, legislation, and commentary, empowering users with authoritative insights and analysis. Westlaw provides access to an extensive collection of legal resources, including case law, legislation, and journals, facilitating in-depth legal research and analysis. Bloomsbury Professional Online offers a wealth of legal publications and resources across various practice areas, ensuring practitioners have access to up-to-date legal guidance and expertise. Together, these platforms form essential tools for legal professionals navigating the complexities of contemporary legal practice.
- Westlaw Edge UK This link opens in a new windowWestlaw Edge UK provides full text access to a variety of legal resources, including many eBooks and journals, UK cases, UK and Scottish legislation. Also a source of legal terms.
- Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new windowLexis+® UK from LexisNexis is a legal intelligence service and research tool that provides access to a wide range of legal materials, including in-force legislation, case law, up-to-date legal commentary, journals, and comprehensive practical guidance. Lexis+ UK is widely used by legal professionals, law students, and academics, and is a valuable resource for anyone who needs to stay up-to-date with the latest legal developments.
- Bloomsbury Professional Online This link opens in a new windowLegal & tax information, commentary and analysis
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowOnline research platform providing government documents, international resources, case law and research aids.
Additional Supplementary Resources
In addition to core legal research platforms, supplementary resources across various disciplines enrich legal research with diverse perspectives and insights. These resources include academic journals, scholarly publications, and interdisciplinary databases that offer historical, contextual, and interdisciplinary perspectives on contemporary legal issues. Accessing a range of supplementary resources ensures a comprehensive understanding of legal issues and enhances the depth and breadth of legal research endeavors.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is claimed to be the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Also, it provides tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
- Cambridge Core This link opens in a new windowCambridge Core provides full text of many eBooks and journals published by Cambridge University Press, many accessible from 1997, or Volume 1 if published later. It covers a number of different subjects.
- GALE ONEFILE: News This link opens in a new windowGALE ONEFILE: News provides access to more than 2,000 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
- GALE Reference Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text access to high quality, authoritative reference texts, original source materials and local, national, and international newspapers. Suitable for undergraduate, postgraduate and research use.
- The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new windowThe Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context. Read by both world leaders and the general public, The Times has offered readers in-depth, award-winning, objective coverage of world events since its creation in 1785 and is the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication. With over 12 million articles available, the archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest, including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy, along with coverage of all major international historical events.
Law - Books Available at UWS Libraries
