Welcome to the Computing Subject Guide
As a student or member of staff at UWS you have access to a wide range of resources that are essential to your studies, teaching and research, including books, journals and online databases. UWS Library is here to ensure that you get the most out of these resources and to help you use these effectively.
This guide contains essential information for Computing and related topics - use the tabs at the top of the page to access detailed guidance.
UWS Library has a Wide Ranging Computing Collection
Where to Start Your Search
Use our Library catalogue, known as 'OneSearch', to search for print books, eBooks, journal articles and more. The 'Using One Search' tab above will give you all the help you need to get started. Otherwise please click the link below.
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowOneSearch is UWS's in-house database. It functions as both a traditional library catalogue and platform to search a wide range of databases to find full-text journal articles. It covers all subject areas.
Expand Your Searching
One Search is a good starting point for finding material on any topic. However, if you want to research a subject more widely then you should follow up with a database search.
Research databases index the global literature and provide references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports etc. that match your search criteria. You can tailor your search precisely and also target particular types of resources, such as peer reviewed journals for example.
UWS Library subscribes to a number of specialist resources in Computing; click on the 'Specialist Computing Resources' tab at the top of this Guide for more information.
In addition to the specialist resources we also have access to a number of multidisciplinary databases. These cover a wide range of subjects - Computing (and related topics) are included within these collections. Click on the 'Other Computing Resources' tab at the top of this Guide for more information.
Academic Librarian for Computing
Library Skills Online
UWS Library is running a series of online presentations throughout the academic year on a range of Library related topics. These sessions are aimed at students at all levels and take around 30 minutes.
Further information is available from the Library Skills Online Guide.
Copyright Statement
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. 