Library Guides: Research Support: Suggested sources

Journal articles

UWS catalogue and discovery tool

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is UWS's in-house database. It functions as both a traditional library catalogue and platform to search a wide range of databases to find full-text journal articles. It covers all subject areas.

Multidisciplinary bibliographic resources, available through UWS

EBSCOhost Research Platform This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is an intuitive online research platform enabling simultaneous access to a range of databases from EBSCO, such as: AHFS Consumer Medication Information, CINAHL Complete, eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), Education Source, GreenFILE, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts, MEDLINE, APA PsycArticles, APA PsycBooks, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, SocINDEX with Full Text and ERIC. It allows you to perform searches across more than one database at a time.
Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Access is to the full text published since 1988 and select content published since 1913 from: IEEE journals, transactions, proceedings, and magazines; IEEE conference proceedings; IEEE published standards; IEEE Spectrum Magazine; IEEE-Wiley eBooks collection; IET journals; IET conference proceedings.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
Oxford Academic This link opens in a new window
OXFORD ACADEMIC brings together thousands of electronic journals and books published by the Oxford University Press in humanities, social science, law, science and medicine.
Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals provides full text access to world-class research journals in health sciences, social sciences, humanities, materials sciences, engineering, life and biomedical sciences.
Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is claimed to be the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Also, it provides tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides comprehensive citation data in databases covering many different academic disciplines. Conference proceedings on science and arts and humanities topics are also indexed.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library provides full text access to eBooks and journals covering science, social science and humanities subjects.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access

African Journals Online
African Journals Online (AJOL) is a Non-Profit Organisation enabling greater access to, and awareness of, quality African-published, peer-reviewed research.

And don't forget the recommended resources for your core subject areas.

Open Access sources

CORE This link opens in a new window
CORE is claimed to be a platform providing access to the world’s largest collection of open access research papers. Its mission is to facilitate free unrestricted access to research for all.
Not Searchable via One Search.
No login required.
Unpaywall Browser Extension This link opens in a new window
Unpaywall is a web browser extension enabling access to open access scholarly publications.
Once installed, a padlock will appear in your browser screen when you land on the page of a scholarly article with a DOI. If the work is openly accessible, the padlock will turn green. You just have to click it and you will be redirected to the OA version of the item you are interested in.

Other journal services

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine (academic search engine) that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
Not Searchable via One Search.
No login required.

Grey literature - reports, statistics, policy papers and more

Newspapers, research process and institutional repositories

GALE ONEFILE: News This link opens in a new window
GALE ONEFILE: News provides access to more than 2,000 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
e-books, case studies, videos and data sets supporting the development of research skills
Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
The UWS Academic Portal This link opens in a new window
Explore the Academic Portal to check for collaboration opportunities and complementary research outputs and activities by colleagues within UWS.
Not Searchable via One Search.
No login required.

OpenDOAR (Directory of Open Access Repositories)
OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered (institutional research) repositories based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.

Conference proceedings, technical reports and theses/dissertations

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Access is to the full text published since 1988 and select content published since 1913 from: IEEE journals, transactions, proceedings, and magazines; IEEE conference proceedings; IEEE published standards; IEEE Spectrum Magazine; IEEE-Wiley eBooks collection; IET journals; IET conference proceedings.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is claimed to be the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Also, it provides tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science databases include Conference Proceeding Index: Science and Conference Proceeding Index: Arts and Humanities.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.

BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine)
BASE provides more than 300 million documents (academic web resources) from more than 10,000 content providers. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Semantic Scholar
Semantic Scholar is a free AI-powered search tool for scientific literature.
more...less...
Not searchable on One Search
Grey Source
GreySource profiles organizations providing reports and other examples of grey literature. The site identifies the hyperlink directly embedded in a resource, thus allowing immediate virtual access to the item.

ESO European Sources Online This link opens in a new window
ESO European Sources Online is a free-access database and information service, which aims to support research and understanding on any matter relating to Europe. It offers curated information and a wide range of sources, enabling information provision to users holding different levels of expertise.
Not Searchable via One Search.
No login required.
EThOS e-Theses Online Service This link opens in a new window
The British Library digital repository for UK research theses offering a central access point to UK doctoral theses. The majority of universities in the UK are members. You can cross-search over 500,000 theses including those available for immediate download.
Not Searchable via One Search.
You must first register on an individual basis with Ethos in order to make requests through the Ethos website. The Ethos site provides further information.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.
Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 5,218,230 theses and dissertations.
Not Searchable via One Search.
No login required.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
A country-by-country and generic international collection of theses repositories. Search the whole site or an individual collection.

Legislation and policy documents

Legislation.gov.uk - Scottish legislation
The website provides access to a comprehensive collection of legislation, including acts of the UK Parliament, statutory instruments, and Scottish statutory instruments. It includes a breakdown of the types of legislation which are either exclusively applicable to Scotland or contain legislation that may pertain to Scotland
Scottish Government - Statistics and research
Use the Topic boxes on the left-hand side to narrow the publications to sections such as Business and Economy.
European Commission Publications
Search the 'Publications' site for European Commission planning and strategy documents, factsheets, studies, tender opportunities, EU laws, statistics and public opinion documents.
Government Websites (maintained by UN)
An A-Z list of countries with links to their websites (information portals)

Statistics

National Records of Scotland - Statistics and data
Demographic and population information for Scotland.
Office for National Statistics
The UK's national statistical institute responsible for collecting and publishing statistics related to the economy, population and society at national, regional and local level.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a great source of global market and consumer data. It includes statistics, reports, infographics, surveys, industry and market reports. The portal is tracking more than 22,000 trusted data sources to help you quickly find and analyse business, social and demographic trends on various topics and industries.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.

Health/Medical evidence

Clinical Trials
ClinicalTrials.gov is a database, provided by US National Library of Medicine, of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
TRIP Medical Database
TRIP is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
International Clinical Trials Registry Platform (WHO)
The World Health Organization's Clinical Trials Search Portal provides access to a central database containing the trial registration data sets provided by a range of trial registries. It also provides links to the full original records.
more...less...
Not searchable on One Search
WHO's IRIS - Institutional Repository for Information Sharing
The World Health Organization's IRIS platforms offers a range of search limiters, e.g. by regional office, when searching for WHO publications.
Grey Matters
Grey Matters is a toolkit for finding and assessing international and health-focused grey literature.

Looking for standards or patents?

Standards are collated and apply at national level.

Patents are registered nationally but collated and applied on a worldwide basis.

Sources include:

BSOL Standards Online This link opens in a new window
BSOL Standards Online provides full text access to British Standards and other international standards.
Please be aware that copyright limits apply to printing, downloading and copying and/or pasting content into other documents. Contact library staff for guidance.

The Lens
Open access full text service for patents and related documents and research literature.
UK Intellectual Property Office
The official UK government body responsible for intellectual property (IP) rights including patents, designs, trade marks and copyright.
World Intellectual Property Organization
A self-funding agency of United Nations, WIPO is a global forum for intellectual property (IP) services, policy, information and cooperation. The service includes a searchable database

Books

UWS Library resources

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is UWS's in-house database. Search here for print and electronic books in UWS Library's Collections.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink provides access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
VLeBooks This link opens in a new window
VLeBooks is an eBook platform. It provides access to eBooks from from the world's leading publishers on a wide range of subjects.
Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.

UK and international resources

Library Hub Discover
Search for books and other items in the collections of 170+ national, research and specialist libraries in the UK and Ireland
National Library of Scotland (NLS)
A reference and digitised collection of over 24 million items - books, manuscripts, maps, music (print and recordings), photographs, posters, postcards, newspapers, magazines, electronic journals and CD-ROMS - on multiple subjects.

Open Research Library This link opens in a new window
The Open Research Library is a hosting platform for peer-reviewed, open access, scholarly monographs. Its aims is to include all OA book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery with a seamless experience.
Not Searchable via One Search.
No login required.

Trove
Search Trove to explore amazing collections from Australian libraries, universities, museums, galleries and archives
Worldcat
WorldCat is the world’s largest library catalogue, helping you find library materials online.

Our A-Z

You can also browse our comprehensive list of online resources:

A-Z databases
An alphabetical list of database collections and services to which UWS subscribes

Item not available?

If the book or journal article you require is not available through UWS Library's collections or via an Open Access service (see Ensure best access to 'hidden' resources), please submit a request to our ILL team:

UWS Library - Inter Library loans (ILLs)
Our dedicated guide to help you make requests for access to books and journal articles held in the British Library or other (mainly UK) Library collections.