Skip to Main Content

Social Sciences

Researching your topic

You will at some point be carrying out research on your chosen topic.  The Library has many books and online resources covering the area of research methods and the different methods used.

You will be choosing an appropriate research method as part of this process.  The research method is the tool used to conduct the research.  Traditionally the method was either quantitative (positivist) or qualitative (interpretivist).

In recent years, however, multiple new methodologies have emerged and many have developed into accepted practice, e.g. mixed methods and arts-based research (practice as research).

Explore options with Sage Research Methods database

  • Read overviews on different methods 
  • Find definitions
  • Watch studies come to life
  • Hear from the experts
  • Practice data analysis

Articles, Journals & Databases.

Research is first published in academic journals, which are also known as periodicals or serials.  They consist of volumes, parts, issues, numbers etc., to help you locate and identify a particular article.​ Journals are made up of articles, also known as papers, and other material such as editorial and book reviews in each part or issue. They are often dedicated to a particular subject area, so they are useful for researching your topic. Aim to choose peer-reviewed journals where possible.  These are journals where articles are written by an academic and submitted to a journal in their subject area.  Experts also in this subject area will scrutinise the paper and will only accept it for publication  if it fits the strict criteria specified.

Journals can also be found in Bibliographic databases which are subject-specific search engines related to an area of study or profession. They index journals, articles, guidance and other documents, such as conference proceedings. The main databases available at UWS can be found on our A-Z database list along with a brief description of subject content.

Remember we don't have access to every journal ever published and that we may not have an entire run from the first volume. We may have gaps in our subscription coverage and for items we do not have in stock you can request them through an Interlibrary loan form.

Specialist Social Sciences databases

The first place to search for resources is One Search.

UWS subscribes to many databases where you can continue your search for resources.

Below are some of the main databases used for your subject area. Hover over the the database title for more detail.

To see our full list of A-Z databases follow https://uws-uk.libguides.com/az.php

Examples of useful online Journals for your subject

Listed below are just some of the journals we have for Social Sciences related areas. Journals contain research articles which you can use in your studies. You can find articles through Subject databases (see the Specialist Social Sciences databases box on this page) or directly within individual journal titles.

Access individual journal titles through One Search by typing the journal title (not the article) into the search box at the top of the screen, using the ‘local search' option. If you have several results, you can filter the results by going to the filters at the side of the screen and choose 'Material Type' then choose to see only 'journals' from your results. Alternatively, you can use the 'Journals Search' menu at the top of the One Search screen and search for journals by subject or enter the title of the journal you require.

Once in the journal, you can browse to a particular year/ volume/ issue, or you can usually search within that journal to find other related material by using your topic keywords to identify other possible articles in your area.

Here are some suggestions.

  • British Journal of Developmental Psychology 

  • British Journal of Sociology​ 

  • British Journal of Educational Studies 

  • British Journal of Political Science 

  • British Journal of Social Psychology 

  • Contemporary Sociology 

  • Critical Social Policy 

  • Ethnic and Racial Studies 

  • European Journal on Criminal Policy and Research 

  • European Societies 

  • Housing Studies 

  • Howard Journal of Criminal Justice 

  • Journal of Applied Social Science​ 

  • Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies 

  • Journal of Family Welfare 

  • Journal of International Migration and Integration 

  • Journal of Poverty and Social Justice​ 

  • Journal of Public Policy 

  • Journal of Social Policy  

  • Journal of Social Welfare and Family Law 

  • Journal of Sociology 

  • Journal of the History of Medicine and Allied Sciences 

  • Nations and Nationalism 

  • Policy and Politics 

  • Race & Class​ 

  • Race and Social Problems​ 

  • Scottish Affairs 

  • Social Policy and Administration 

  • Social Policy and Society​ 

  • Social Problems​ 

  • Social Science and Medicine 

  • Sociology 

  • Sociology: the journal of the British Sociological Association

  • Work, Employment and Society 

  • Youth Justice 

Online collections

Looking for books?

Search Library Hub Discover to explore the collections of many university and research libraries in the UK and further afield.

You can then request access to relevant titles through our Inter Library Loans service. 

 

Looking for international theses?

The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations lists collections of a country's collated theses. Search the whole site or first select an individual collection.

Improve your Library Skills online

Our Library Skills Online programme is a set of live, informal chats about libraries, finding information and other helpful resources - visit the link below to find out what's on and sign up.

Open Access

Open Access

Many scholarly articles are now published on an Open Access basis, i.e. free access for all from the point of publication (or agreed time limit).

Some databases, e.g. Emerald Insight, offer a specific filter option to restrict search results to open access items only.

 

There are bibliographic services available to help you find open access items. 

 

Don't despair if the items you need are not published on an open access basis - other access options are available ...

Local and specialist libraries

A national agreement - SCONUL Access - is in place to enable access for students to the holdings of other academic and research institutions.  Please see their website to register and for details of scheme members.

Anyone with a postal address in Scotland can join the National Library of Scotland to visit the Edinburgh reading rooms or access the online collections of one of the major research libraries in Europe.