Library Guides: Paramedic Science, ODP and Allied Health: Finding Journal Articles

Selected key journals - to browse or search individually

BMJ Journals
BMJ Journals is a collection of influential medical and allied science journals promoting good practice and the latest research evidence.
Open Access publishing options available for research staff

Searching for journal articles

Core resources to search for journal articles on a topic

OneSearch
OneSearch is UWS's in-house database. It functions as both a traditional library catalogue and platform to search a wide range of databases to find full-text journal articles. It covers all subject areas.
CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL provides full text access to articles in professional and academic journals on nursing, midwifery, and allied health care. Also, it is an index of English-language and selected other-language journal articles about nursing, allied health, biomedicine and healthcare.
Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
MEDLINE
MEDLINE (1950-present) is the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier life science database.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.

Other Allied Health resources:

PubMed
PubMed is a search engine indexing citations from biomedical literature collated by the United States' National Library of Medicine. Some items are available open access from the integrated PubMed Central collection.

Web of Science
Web of Science provides subscription-based access to multiple databases that provide comprehensive citation data for many different academic disciplines. It was originally produced by the Institute for Scientific Information.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection provides full access to literature in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology and observational and/or experimental methods.
Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
SAGE Journals
SAGE Journals provides full text access to world-class research journals in health sciences, social sciences, humanities, materials sciences, engineering, life and biomedical sciences.
Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library provides full text access to eBooks and journals covering science, social science and humanities subjects.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access
Emerald Insight
Emerald Insight provides abstracts and full text articles from academic journals on management topics including health and social care.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.
Learn more from our LibGuide created by expert librarians.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library includes high quality systematic reviews and meta-analyses giving an overview of the evidence base available on selected topics.
Not Searchable via One Search.
All residents of Scotland can access the Cochrane Library for free, thanks to funding provided by NHS Education for Scotland.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine (academic search engine) that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
Not Searchable via One Search.
No login required.
The Knowledge Network
The Knowledge Network (incorporating SSKS) is NHS Education for Scotland's platform for health and social care resources. e-journals, articles and e-books are indexed along with selected print books.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Users sign in to access resources and services using an NHSScotland OpenAthens username and password. These usernames are available for everyone working in health and social care in Scotland. Please look for details at The Knowledge Network portal.

NHS Knowledge and Library Hub (Health Education England)
The NHS Knowledge and Library Hub connects NHS staff and learners to high quality knowledge and evidence resources in one place, using a single search.
more...less...
Separate registration required.

Registering for an NHS Open Athens account

Are you on placement with, or employed by, the NHS, social services or a related agency in Scotland?

If so, you can register for an NHS Open Athens account and and access a wider range of journal articles, books and other NHS Library services:

Students on placement:

Use the registration link below. You will be asked for your university email address during the registration process.
Wait for your separate username and password to be confirmed by email. Note: this may take 2-3 days.
Login and search the collection as relevant.

NHS and local authority staff

Sign-in to OpenAthens to access library services, including Library Search and SSKS Library Search, along with e-journals, databases and evidence summaries, using your NHS Scotland or local authority email address and password.

Knowledge Network registration
Using NHS Scotland's Digital Library
NHS Scotland's guide to searching and using their Library Search and Clinical Evidence features.
more...less...
No login required.
How to search literature effectively
NHS Scotland's series of short (20 minutes) modules on developing search skills on health and social care related topics.
more...less...
Turas Learn account required - see instructions are on the front page.

Digging deeper

UWS Library - Dissertation Support
Our dedicated guide with help and support for each step of the dissertation process, and conducting research projects.
UWS Library - Inter Library loans (ILLs)
Our dedicated guide to help you make requests for access to books and journal articles held in the British Library or other (mainly UK) Library collections.