Introduction
Items in your Module Resource Lists are called citations. There are a variety of ways to add items:
- Library Search - add books, journal articles and other items available through One Search
- Cite It! - use this button to add journal articles and larger websites such as YouTube or Amazon
- Blank Form - manually add resources if they are not available through Library Search or Cite It!
- My Collection - save items for later or import multiple files from a reference manager (e.g. EndNote or Mendeley)
Add items
To use Library Search:
- In your list, select 'Add Items'.
- Select 'Library Search' from the pane on the right.
- Select the 'Blended' search option and search for the article, journal or book you are looking for - use words from the title and the author's surname if you know it.
- In the results, select 'Additional versions' to see other versions of a title - they may not be in date order. Print and electronic copies or different editions may be listed together or as separate items. In this example ('The Study Skills Handbook' by Stella Cottrell), they are listed together.
- Once you have found the item, select the section of the list you would like it to appear in. Select 'Add'.
- A tag indicating the importance level of the item must also be added - this process is shown on the tab 'Edit items on your list'
To install the Cite It! button:
- While logged in to your Module Reading Lists, click on your initials in the top right-hand side of the page, then select 'Cite It!'.
- Drag and drop the 'Cite It!' button directly onto your bookmarks bar. (Follow these instructions to open your bookmarks bar in Chrome, Firefox, Safari and Microsoft Edge/Internet Explorer.)
- The Cite It! button is now ready to use. At any point, you can click your initials and 'Cite It!' to view the list of websites supported by the system. Even if a website is not listed, it is likely to work if the resource information is easily identifiable to the bookmarklet code, so give it a try.
To use the Cite It! button:
- When viewing an article or website that you would like to add to your list, select the 'Cite It!' button in your bookmarks bar. If you are not logged in, you will be asked to do so at this point.
- A box will appear with details of the resource you have selected. For online resources, it's important to check and edit the details if necessary.
- You can either add the item to a list immediately or add the item to your Collection to use at another time.
- Select 'Add and Close' to complete the process.
Video/web page:
Journal article:
Amazon book (items not in the Library):
To manually add an item:
- In your list, select 'Add Items'. Select the 'Blank Form' option from the pane on the right.
- Select the type of resource (website, journal article, book etc.) and fill out the boxes which appear. Add the URL or online link in the 'Source' box.
- You can either add the item to a list immediately or add the item to your Collection to use at another time.
- Select 'Add and Close' to complete the process.
View an item in a list
To view the full details of an item in your list, click on the title. The 'Links & Availability' section gives details about print copies in the Library and/or a link to the e-book, article or website.
View and add items from My Collection
The 'My Collection' section is your personal library where you can save items to use in future lists.
To add items to My Collection:
- Click the three lines in the top left-hand corner (next to the UWS logo) and select 'Collection'.
- You can add items the same way you add items to a list.
- You can also use the 'Import' button to transfer items from a reference manager (i.e. EndNote) into your Collection.
To add an item from My Collection to a list:
- Select Add Items, then select Collection.
- Find and select the item you would like to add, then choose which list to add it to.