Welcome to the Adult Nursing Subject Guide
This is your guide to how the library can support you when studying and researching Adult Nursing at UWS.
As a health professional you need to be able to find and apply the best research evidence to your practice, and as a student, within your assignments.
As a student at UWS you have access to a huge range of resources that will be essential to your studies - books, journals, databases and more. Knowing how to get the most out of these can seem tricky at first - the good news is that UWS Library is here to support you on each step of the journey.
Key resources are listed below, with more tips and links on other pages in this guide.
Selected titles from One Search
Key resources
Getting started (books and journal articles)
You can find print books, eBooks and electronic journal articles on a range of topics on our One Search catalogue and discovery tool.
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowOneSearch is UWS's in-house database. It functions as both a traditional library catalogue and platform to search a wide range of databases to find full-text journal articles. It covers all subject areas.
Getting started (Textbooks with images)
Search the Clinical Key collection for core texts and images you can, legally and easily, incorporate into your own presentations
- Clinical Key Nursing and Midwifery e-book collection This link opens in a new windowClinical Key provides full-text access to a bespoke collection of nursing and midwifery e-books and includes access to 1000's of subject-related images.
Digging deeper
We also have access to several bibliographic databases indexing journal articles published in different specialties, or for scholarly purposes. These are helpful when running more focused searches. See 'Finding journal articles' for a fuller selection but core databases are:
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowCINAHL provides full text access to articles in professional and academic journals on nursing, midwifery, and allied health care. Also, it is an index of English-language and selected other-language journal articles about nursing, allied health, biomedicine and healthcare.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowPsychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection provides full access to literature in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology and observational and/or experimental methods.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX is the authoritative bibliographic database for sociology research. It offers millions of indexed records from top sociology journals covering many subjects including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowSpringerLink provides access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science provides subscription-based access to multiple databases that provide comprehensive citation data for many different academic disciplines. It was originally produced by the Institute for Scientific Information.
Academic Librarian for Nursing & Healthcare
Any questions - ask the library staff
Looking for more?
- See the Quick Links box above for links to our referencing, dissertation and other guides that might prove useful..
- Book an appointment with an Academic Librarian to discuss the most appropriate search terms and resources for your topic/assignment.
- Please email library staff, or log a call on the self-service portal, if you have any questions on using library services and resources.
- Self Service PortalAll students and staff members have access to an online Self Service Portal to search through the answers to FAQs, log calls or place service requests and review the progress of any submitted requests.
