Library Guides: Adult Nursing: Finding other credible evidence sources

A selection of sources to find policy papers and other evidence

Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC)
The Nursing and Midwifery Council is the professional regulator for nurses and midwives in the UK, and nursing associates in England.
Healthcare Improvement Scotland
Healthcare Improvement Scotland provides information and evidence to enable citizens to make informed decisions about their care and treatment and health and social care organisations to continuously improve their services. Includes SIGN guidelines.
The Scottish Government: Health and Social Care
The Scottish Government's policies on health and social care.

A selection of sources to find statistics

Scotland's official statistics
Access over 250 datasets from multiple agencies including Registers of Scotland, Public Health Scotland Visit Scotland , SEPA
Office for National Statistics
The UK's national statistical institute responsible for collecting and publishing statistics related to the economy, population and society at national, regional and local level.
Scottish Public Health Observatory
Provides data on health, risk factors, behaviours and wider health determinants in Scotland.
Global Health Observatory (WHO)
The Global Health Observatory includes statistics and data sets on a wide range of health topics.

Clinical Practice resources

Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical and Cancer Nursing Procedures
The Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures Online provides users with up-to-date, evidence-based clinical skills and processes essential to delivering an exceptional level of patient care

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Bates' Visual Guide includes more than 8 hours of video demonstrations of head-to-toe and body systems-based physical examination techniques.

Mind the Gap
Mind the Gap is a clinical handbook of signs and symptoms in black and brown skin.
Skin Deep
The Skin Deep collaborative project provides a free, open-access bank of high-quality photographs of medical conditions in a range of skin tones. The team aim to improve education and recognition of conditions in all skin tones, reducing inequalities and improving patient care by ensuring that all children receive a timely diagnosis regardless of their skin colour.

Copyright-free Images

Images can be included in your presentations to demonstrate and ease understanding of discussion points.

Be aware though that copyright protection also applies to images, photographs and graphics, and that theses protections are more meaningful as we usually want to use the whole work.

The following sources include images that are expected to be re-used by others, with appropriate acknowledgement.

Always check the licence arrangements and select "use with attribution" or attribution free sites.

Creative Commons Images
Collection of images licensed, in 1 of 6 ways, for re-use, especially in educational and research settings.

The following video explains why Creative Commons licences exist and the differences between them. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

University of Guelph (2018) What are Creative Commons licenses? Available at: https://youtu.be/srVPLrmlBJY (Accessed: 22 September 2022).

Pixabay
Pixabay is a platform for images which the copyright holder expects to be re-used by others. Some images can be used freely with or without attribution but others require payment.
Google Images
Search Google images for images on a range of topics. We recommend filtering by 'Usage Rights' to ensure copyright compliance.