How to get started with systematic literature searching

RMIT University (2019) Why can't I just Google it? Available at: https://youtu.be/UVwJcrFMaqA (Accessed: 27 January 2021).

'For your course, you will need to demonstrate a deeper understanding and draw on more reliable and expert sources than the person in the street' (Cottrell, 2019, p. 233).

Cottrell, S. (2019) The study skills handbook. London: Red Globe Press.

The search strategy is a working record of the decisions made when planning a complex search. 

At higher levels of study, a formal search strategy is an integral part of an academic assignment or research project.  In this case, the search strategy summarises the decision making behind the search as well as confirming the searches undertaken.

The search strategy includes the:

• Breakdown of the topic into separate concepts, 
• Key words and alternative search terms for each concept,
• Relevant types of item,
• Resources consulted,
• Other factors applied, if any, when selecting the items to be analysed or discussed.  This could include any specific date range, setting, group of people, or location.

Deciding on a search strategy is one of the first steps in conducting a literature review. For more on doing a literature review, see our Dissertation Support guide.

Welcome to the guide on literature searching principles! Whether you're new to research or looking to enhance your skills, this guide will help you navigate academic databases effectively. We'll cover basics and essential concepts like Boolean operators and search term combinations in a clear and accessible manner, empowering you to find the information you need with confidence. This will be a useful primer if you decide you'd like to continue developing your skills and look into the other sections of this guide.

Finding Sources

Where to Begin Your Search

You will be expected to use good quality information when researching your assignments. No doubt, you'll have used Google or even Google Scholar - that's fine, but you can do better than that. 

While Google Scholar can be useful for broad searches, UWS Library Services databases offer several advantages for academic research:

1. Focused Content: Library databases contain curated collections of scholarly resources, ensuring that you're accessing high-quality, peer-reviewed literature relevant to your field.

2. Advanced Search Features: Databases provide advanced search options, allowing you to refine your search criteria and tailor your results more precisely. This can save you time and help you find the most relevant sources.

3. Access to Subscription Content: Many library databases provide access to subscription-based content that may not be freely available on the web. This includes academic journals, books, newspapers, film, market reports, case studies, and other proprietary resources that can greatly enhance your research.

4. Discipline-specific Resources: UWS Library Services databases often include discipline-specific resources tailored to diverse fields, providing access to specialied literature and research materials essential for academic inquiry and study across various subjects and disciplines.

5. Reliable Citations: Databases often provide accurate citation information for each source, making it easier for you to cite your references properly in your own work.

6. Customisation: Some databases allow you to create personalized accounts or alerts, so you can stay updated on new research in your field or save useful articles for later reference.

At its core, every search query is constructed using Boolean logic (AND,OR, NOT) to specify the relationships between different terms and criteria. 

Virtually every search engine, whether it's a web search engine like Google or a database search engine like PubMed or Scopus, operates based on Boolean logic principles. By using Boolean operators such as AND, OR, and NOT, users can refine their search queries to retrieve more relevant and targeted results.

This universality of Boolean logic in search engines allows you to apply similar search strategies across different platforms, making it easier to navigate and retrieve information from various sources. Whether you're conducting research, seeking information, or simply browsing the web, understanding Boolean logic can greatly enhance your ability to find the information you need efficiently and effectively.

Let's use Bruce Springsteen as an example to explain some absolute basics of Boolean logic and how it can be applied:

1. Boolean Operators:

   • AND: When you use 'AND' between two search terms, it tells the search engine to retrieve results that include both terms. For example, if you search for 'Bruce Springsteen AND albums,' you'll get results that mention both Bruce Springsteen and albums.

   • OR: When you use 'OR' between two search terms, it tells the search engine to retrieve results that include either of the terms. For example, if you search for 'Bruce Springsteen OR "The Boss",' you'll get results that mention either Bruce Springsteen or The Boss.

   • NOT: When you use 'NOT' before a search term, it tells the search engine to exclude results that include that term. For example, if you search for 'Bruce Springsteen NOT Born in the USA,' you'll get results that mention Bruce Springsteen but exclude any results related to the album 'Born in the USA.'

2. Combining Operators:

   • You can combine multiple operators to create more complex search queries. Let's say you're interested in finding information about Bruce Springsteen's albums, but you want to specifically exclude results related to live performances. Here's how you could construct the search query: 'Bruce Springsteen AND (albums OR studio).'
      

3. Parentheses (Nesting):

   • Parentheses can be used to group terms and control the order of operations. For example, if you want to search for songs by Bruce Springsteen but also include songs by his band, you might search for '((Bruce Springsteen OR E Street Band) AND (song* OR "Atlantic City")).'

By understanding and using these basic principles of Boolean logic, you can create more targeted and effective searches to find information.