How to get started with systematic literature searching

Before you begin your search, you need to create a research question. It's crucial to formulate a clear research question before conducting systematic searching to ensure focused and relevant retrieval of literature.

Vague questions, or questions that are too broad or general, can’t be answered easily. Worse still, when you start searching, you’ll likely retrieve an overwhelming number of results! When you initially embark on a research project, it's perfectly normal not to have a clear-cut research question right away, so it's worth taking your time to do some scoping searches. To pinpoint your research focus, consider the following steps:

1. Understand the Research Question: Begin by comprehensively understanding the research question and its components. Identify the main topics, variables, and key terms embedded within the question.

2. Identify Key Concepts: Break down the research question into its fundamental concepts (components, themes or elements). Analyse the relationships between these concepts and their significance within the broader context of the research inquiry.

3. Conceptualise Relationships: Explore the connections and dependencies between the key concepts identified in your research question. Consider any potential causal relationships, interactions, or correlations that may exist among them.

4. Identify Synonyms and Related Terms: Generate a list of synonyms, alternative expressions, or related terminology for each key concept. This step ensures inclusivity and captures diverse perspectives presented in the literature.

5. Construct Boolean Operators: Utilize Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to logically connect the key concepts and their corresponding synonyms. Employ AND to narrow down search results, OR to broaden the scope, and NOT to exclude specific terms as necessary.

6. Refine the Query: Fine-tune the query based on contextual nuances, research objectives, and specific criteria relevant to the investigation. Consider factors such as audience, publication timeframe, and research methodologies to enhance search precision.

7. Test and Iterate: Validate the efficacy of the query by executing it in appropriate databases or search platforms. Evaluate the retrieved results to gauge relevance and applicability, and iteratively refine the query as needed to optimise search outcomes.

Broad scoping searches are essential for gaining a comprehensive understanding of your research topic and identifying potential gaps in the literature. By exploring diverse sources, including interdisciplinary databases and grey literature, you can:

1. Contextualise Your Research: Gain insights into the broader context of your topic and identify key concepts and terminology.

2. Discover Related Areas of Study: Uncover interdisciplinary perspectives and related research areas that may enrich your literature review.

3. Identify Research Gaps: Identify areas where further research is needed and refine your research questions accordingly.

4. Stay Updated on Emerging Trends: Keep abreast of current debates and emerging trends in your field to position your research within the broader academic landscape.

Use a variety of search strategies, such as keyword searches and citation chaining, to conduct broad scoping searches effectively. Consult with a librarian or information specialist for personalised guidance on integrating broad scoping searches into your research process.

Breaking down a research question into a query follows a structured process applicable across disciplines. This discipline-neutral framework facilitates the systematic deconstruction of research questions into actionable search queries. It is suitable for learners across all academic levels, but may need to be adapted and expanded for more nuanced or complex questions. In the tabs below, you will see several examples of a research question and accompanying template. These should help you create a plan of your own.

In your final query, there's no requirement to integrate all the components together. The objective is to break down each aspect of the question, considering its individual relevance and position within the question itself. Some components might be implicit within others, potentially unnecessary for your search. Experiment with combining different parts, while keeping in mind your core component, concept, or theme.

The components and collections of terms you've assembled may not be pertinent to every aspect of your project or research question. It's important to explore alternative sets of components. Different combinations of component queries may prove appropriate for distinct parts of your work.

Maintaining a log of searches can be done using simple methods such as:

1. Personal Accounts: Many database interfaces offer personal account features that allow you to save searches and search histories. These personal accounts often provide options to save searches, set up alerts for new publications matching your search criteria, and organise saved searches into folders for easy retrieval.

2. Spreadsheet: Use a spreadsheet program like Microsoft Excel or Google Sheets to record search details such as search terms, databases searched, date of search, and results found.

3. Notebook: Keep a dedicated notebook where you jot down search details by hand. Include information such as search strategy, databases used, and any notes or observations.

4. Text document (or .txt file): Create a text document on your computer or mobile device to type out search details. You can organise the information chronologically or by topic. While not as sophisticated as personal account features offered by some database interfaces, text documents provide a practical solution for keeping track of search activities. They are also very useful as back-ups.

5. Email drafts: Use your email account to draft messages to yourself with search details. Include the search strategy, databases searched, and any relevant notes.

Choose the method that suits your preferences and guarantees easy access to your search history when required. It's crucial to accurately document the details. These logs serve not only as an audit of your search activities but also as a record of skill development. Additionally, if you plan on publishing your work, you may be asked to provide a record of your search activities. Besides, once you have reached the end of your work, it can be reassuring to see a full record of the work you have conducted and check whether or not you have missed anything important.