A-Z Databases: ASME Digital Collection

Go to Databases A-Z and select 'ASME Digital Collection'.

Click on "Sign in" at the top right hand corner of the page.

Click on "Sign in via your Institution".

Click on "Sign in via Shibboleth" and make sure the following options are selected:

Location:  UK Access Management Federation

Institution:  University of the West of Scotland

Log in using your UWS staff/student details.

Once you have logged in you should see "Institutional Accounts" at the top right hand corner of the page.  Click on the down arrow next to it and the following should display:  "University of the West of Scotland SHEDL - Consortia Office".  

ASME Digital Collection provides access to the following peer-reviewed content:

• ASME Journals from 1959 onwards
• ASME Conference Proceedings from 2000 to date
• ASME ebooks from 1993 to date

Not all content may be included in our UWS subscription.  Please refer to the "Getting the Full Text" section of this Guide.

ASME Digital Collection offers a Basic/Quick search option at the top of the homepage.

Select keywords and/or phrases to describe what you want to look for and type these into the search box provided. Click on the "Search" box to carry out the search.

Search results can be refined by Format, such as Journal Articles, Conference Papers or Ebook Chapters, for example, or by Subject Headings or Journal Title.

An "Advanced Search" option is also available (to the right of the Quick Search box).  This will take you directly into the Advanced Search screen.  Please note the following points

• Phrase search - include the terms in quotation marks to ensure that they appear together (e.g. "catastrophic failure").
• Using the drop down arrow next to "Filter" allows you to specify the field that you want to search, such as Title, Author, Full Text, Abstract or Keywords, for example.
• You can combine terms in order to narrow down your search results and make these more specific e.g. "catastrophic failure" AND uncertainty,

Search results are ranked in order of Relevance (usually the best option) but can be changed and listed by Date so that the most recent results display first.

Searches can also be limited by date so that only information published within a specified time period is searched (e.g. 2010 - 2021).

Search results can be refined by Format, such as Journal Articles, Proceedings Papers, Ebook Chapters, Subject Headings or Journal Title, for example.

UWS Library does not subscribe to all of the content available from the ASME Digital Collection.

If a journal article is unavailable via our subscription, it might be possible to source a free copy on the internet that is provided under an open access arrangement. This can be checked using Google Scholar. Type in one author's surname and add the title of the article in quotation marks (to look for the words in the same order). If the article is freely available, you will see a PDF or HTML notation to the right of the citation.

You may also be able to get the article by requesting an Inter-Library Loan.

The American Society of Mechanical Engineers has a YouTube channel with over 200 videos covering a wide range of topics, including individual journal titles.

You may wish to set up a personal account within ASME Digital Collection.  Please note that while this allows you to access additional features of the database, such as email alerts for saved searches and/or newly published content, it does not give you access to additional full-text content to which UWS Library does not subscribe!

Further information and guidance on setting up a personal account are available under FAQs on the ASME Digital Collection website (click on Email Alerts).

Accessibility Statement

This work in this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.