Academic Librarian
(currently working between my office in Ayr and home)
Our Collection
In UWS Library we have children's literature for all age groups from pre-school to teen, including picture books, novels, non-fiction books, big books and dual language books. Our collection covers classic and contemporary children's literature, with major authors and illustrators represented.
There is lots of Scottish literature and literature in Scots, but there is also a good selection of world fiction. Poetry, folk tales, fairy tales and junior graphic novels also feature.
These collections are located at the Ayr, Dumfries and Lanarkshire Campus Libraries. Use the tabs at the side of the guide to navigate through all the different pages and you can scroll through the different gallery boxes for book recommendations.
Junior Non-Fiction - allowing children to expand their horizons
We have a diverse and colourful selection of junior non-fiction books suitable for all ages.
Not all children find their way to reading through fiction. Non-fiction books for children can help motivate reluctant readers by capitalizing on their curiosity and interest in the world around them.
Vocabulary knowledge is key to increasing text comprehension, leading to increased academic success. Non-fiction children's books naturally integrate complicated vocabulary words in ways that make it easy for students to learn new words.
With realistic pictures and contextualized content, students learning to read in a second language can connect familiar images with words from the new language.
Finding journal articles about children's literature
Start your research in the Library Catalogue One Search. Then try more subject specific databases like these below.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowEducation Source is claimed to be the world's largest full-text research database designed for education students, professionals and policymakers. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for thousands of education journals, books and education-related conference papers.
- Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new windowTaylor & Francis Online provides access to millions of quality, peer-reviewed journal articles published under the Taylor & Francis and Routledge imprints.
Resources for Scottish children's literature
- Association for Scottish LiteratureThe Association aims to promote the study, teaching and writing of Scottish literature, and to further the study of the languages of Scotland.
- Scottish Book TrustSupport and ideas for teachers, including reading recommendations, author events, and curriculum-linked activities.
- Scottish Poetry LibraryWho offer learning resources for schools to use at all curriculum levels.
- Scottish Storytelling ForumWhere you can book a storyteller for a school visit or an online session.
