Skip to Main Content

University of Glasgow (Dumfries) students. Using the Library: Welcome

A guide to using University of the West of Scotland Library for University of Glasgow students based at Dumfries campus.

Introduction

University of Glasgow students studying at Dumfries have access to print resources in UWS Library as well as the print and extensive online resources provided by the University of Glasgow.  Library staff at Dumfries Campus work in partnership with staff at the University of Glasgow to support all students' learning and research.

UWS LogoUniversity of Glasgow logo

UWS Library staff at Dumfries Campus support all students using the library building, study spaces and print resources.  You can speak to a member of the team at the Library Info Point, email library@uws.ac.uk or phone 0141 848 3888 (ask for Dumfries Campus Library).  For help with any of the services or collections at University of Glasgow contact library@glasgow.ac.uk. 

If you have any questions, please ask.

Library opening hours

Opening hours for the Dumfries Campus Library can be found here.

Image of the Library Support desk at Dumfries Campus Library

The Library at Dumfries Campus (Crichton Library) is situated in the Dumfries & Galloway college building, Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4FD.

Wi-Fi

Wi-Fi is available throughout the building: to connect select Eduroam and log-in using your student email and password.

An image of a a chalkboard with the words Free WIFI on it.

Study space

There are a variety of different study options available in the Library including quiet study area, group tables and study desks which can be found around the Library.

An image of the study space at Dumfries Campus Library.

Please contact UWS Library for information about study space at the Library Info Point, email library@uws.ac.uk or phone 0141 848 3888 (ask for Dumfries Campus Library).

University of Glasgow Library

Find out more about the Library at the University of Glasgow including information on the library building, services and collections by visiting the Library website

The College Support Team are also available to help.

If you would like to speak to someone from the University of Glasgow Library email library@glasgow.ac.uk

Borrowing

You will need a valid student ID card to borrow print resources from the Library.  

Image of a University of Glasgow student card as described in the text.

Undergraduate and postgraduate students can borrow up to 15 books (4 week Loans).

Staff and researchers can borrow up to 35 books (8 week Loans).

Renewals

Books can be renewed up to 5 times, as long as they have not been requested by someone else.

As a reminder the Library will send notifications to your student email when book(s) are approaching their due date.  You are responsible for any print items items issued to your Library account until they are returned.

 

Returning books

UWS Library books: Self-service kiosks or to the Library Info Point.

UoG Library books: Library Info Point  

An image of a pile of old books.

If you are unable to renew books online or return to the Library, please get in touch as soon as possible.

Online resources

University of Glasgow students have access to extensive online collections, including eBooks, journal articles, databases, reference management software and more.  If you need help: contact the College Library Support Team (CLST) for email support or to request an online appointment.

If an eBook or online journal article you need is not available you can make a request: eBooks lynn.irvine@glasgow.ac.uk or use the online Book Suggestion Form.  For journal articles not available online, please request an Inter Library Loan.  

An image of a person with a laptop open in front of them.

To start any search try Library Search on the University of Glasgow Library website; it is the best way to look for books in the collection.  It is also a great starting place for finding material for assignments and research projects.

Please note due to current licensing agreements University of Glasgow students cannot access UWS online resources.

Requesting books from UWS Library

You can access and borrow the print resources available in the Library. If the item required is not located at Dumfries you can request from another campus (Ayr, Lanarkshire, London, Paisley) via UWS OneSearch: sign-in at the top right of the page.

 

The log-in screen will appear with two options. The first option is for UWS Students and Staff to log in. The second option is for Other Users, which includes students and staff from the University of Glasgow.

A screenshot of the log in options as described in the text.

Select 'Other users'.

The User ID is the 14-digit barcode on your student card. For 2024/25 students the password comprises the first three letters of your first name first letter is a capital and the rest in lower case (e.g., "Cla" for "Clark") followed by "Lib24!" i.e., ClaLib24! If the first name field is blank on our system, the password will start with "abc" instead. Select Dumfries or your nearest campus, and once the item is ready for collection a notification will be sent to your student email. For 2022/23 students the password comprises the first three letters of your first name followed by "Lib22!" e.g., claLib22! Students from earlier intakes should come to the Library Info Point to have their password reset.

If for any reason you are unable to find any print resources or need any help speak to someone at the Library Info Point, email library@uws.ac.uk or phone 0141 848 3888 (ask for Dumfries Campus Library).

For any print books that are not in the UWS or the UoG library collections you can request a copy, contact details above.

Requesting books from UoG Library

You can also request print items from the University of Glasgow library collection:

  • Request a scan for up to one chapter of a book: Library staff will scan the chapter and send to your student email this is the Scan and Send service.
  • eBook purchase requests to lynn.irvine@glasgow.ac.uk or use the Book Suggestion Form
  • Print books: to request from University of Glasgow Library or to be purchased ask at the Library Info Point, email library@uws.ac.uk or call 0141 848 3888 (ask for Dumfries Campus Library).