Library Guides: A-Z Databases: ScienceDirect: Scopus and ScienceDirect: do I need to search them both?

Scopus

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is claimed to be the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Also, it provides tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
Not Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.

ScienceDirect

To access ScienceDirect click on the link below, and then click on the link to ScienceDirect.

Staff ID/Password (staff)

Banner ID/Password (students)

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is claimed to be the world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research. Explore journals, books and articles.
Searchable via One Search.
Use your student/staff email address and password to access the resource.

Scopus or SciencDirect

ScienceDirect and Scopus are both academic databases owned by Elsevier, but they serve different purposes and offer distinct features:

Content Coverage:
- ScienceDirect primarily focuses on providing access to scholarly journals and books published by Elsevier.
- Scopus covers a broader range of scientific literature, including peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, books, and patents from various publishers worldwide.
Search Functionality:
- Both platforms offer advanced search features, but Scopus typically provides more robust search capabilities, allowing users to refine search results using multiple filters such as author, publication year, document type, and more.
- ScienceDirect may have limitations in terms of access to search history and combining searches, which can make it more challenging to conduct comprehensive searches, especially for systematic reviews.
Citation Metrics:
- Scopus provides citation metrics for individual articles, enabling researchers to assess the impact and quality of research more easily.
- ScienceDirect may offer some citation information but may not provide as comprehensive citation metrics as Scopus.

In summary, while both platforms are valuable resources for researchers, ScienceDirect is more focused on providing access to Elsevier's publications, while Scopus offers a broader range of scientific literature and more advanced search functionalities, along with comprehensive citation metrics.